Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-26-2017, 04:57 PM   #1

Trailer/TV combination

I originally posted this question on the General Chat thread because I'm an idiot and didn't check where I was before posting. Got a couple replies and figured I may as well re-post on this thread - you know, the correct thread.

I'm completely new to towing a travel trailer and so, like everything else in my life, I've spent the past six months reading and researching, trying not to make a big mistake. I think my numbers are OK, but being the worrying kind I wanted to get opinions from people who know far more than I do.

My TV is a 2016 f150 XLT supercab, 5.0, 141" WB, 3.55 gears. It's GVWR is 7050, GCVWR is 14,400, and payload is 2067 (from the door sticker). I figure with the family and maybe an extra 80 lbs. of stuff we should weigh 600 lbs.

The trailer is a Jay Feather 23BHM, ordered by my dealer about a week ago and expected to be in by June. The 23BHM had an unloaded weight of 4830 in 2017, and although this is a 2018 model I have to think the weight will stay pretty much the same. The GVWR is 6250, but just as I don't want to push weights with my truck I also don't want to push the trailer's weight so we'll stay under that figure. I ordered it with several options and have a Jayco option weight sheet that shows the total additional weight of 70 lbs. There's just three of us and our dog and we won't be out much longer than a few days at a time so we won't take along all our possessions.

I'm sorry to be obtuse about this - I have no experience. And I'm sorry for being so worrisome, but the dealer is about 4 hours away through western Pennsylvania and my first pull will be from there to home (northeastern Pennsylvania) and I'll tell you the truth, that pull has me a little nervous.