Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-23-2013, 02:09 AM   #1

Angry Water pump issue

I have a 08 jayflight 26bh and went ahead and sanatized my lines due to a sulfery black water coming out. Well I had assistance because I'm new to this and thought my help knew his stuff. Long story short the water pump would kick off after the lines were full prior to sanatizing. My help used both gravity fill and city lines to fill tank and lines. After the tank was full he opened the faucets and water heater and let drain completely. My help left the pump on after empty for approx 15 minutes and when we will up again the water pump will not shut off. We were able to get water to the faucets but can't get pump to stop. All lines are open properly(I think) and water is in the hot water heater just not getting proper pressure like before. PLEASE HELP!!!

Thanks in advance
Clueless!!
hoehn19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 03:31 AM   #2

The pump should be able to run dry without damage. However, if you are disconnected from city water and the fresh water tank has sufficient water in it and the pump is pumping water from the faucets and the faucets are shut off and there are no leaks anywhere the pump is likely bad.

One possibility to check for a loose connection between the pump intake and the tank. If it is sucking air this could happen. If you have a winterizing tube at the pump check to be sure that valve is completely closed.

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:18 AM   #3

If it helps the noise it makes is a low hum compared to the normal noise it makes. Also there does not appear to be any leaks. Does anything special have to be done to my hot water heater
Old 06-23-2013, 09:53 AM   #4