Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2012, 06:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1

guys i have a 2000 jayco pop up camper that has a furnace in it. i am not sure how to operate it. i was told that all you had to do is turn the thermosatate up and it automatically light the pilot. i did this and noting happend. i tested the gas by lighting the range and pretty blue flames burned. i had a battery hooked up too because i was told the fan runs on dc and not ac power. i also looked at the breaker and they were on too. if you could let me know some things to try i would appreciate it. thanks

dirtyleft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,236
Usually there is an on/off switch on the bottom of the thermostat. You need to turn that on. Then turn the temperature up. If nothing happens, turn the thermostat back off, then remove the cover from the front of the furnace vent (often brown about 7 or 8 inches square with inside the camper). It pulls off of the bottom then unhinge it at the top. Some have a small plastic "lock" that you need to turn before removing. Behind that vent there is a switch. Push that switch. Turn the thermostat on and then turn the temp up. The fan will run first, then you will hear clicking when the gas is being lit. Then the warm air will come out. Also if you are plugged into AC power your converter will convert the 120 AC power to 12 volt DC power. Good luck.

No I am NOT retired. I work full time.:D

Tracy from Central PA

2010 Jayco 17Z Ex-Port
2004 Ford Explorer V8 with the tow package
2010 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 132 - Nights Camping in My Z 102
2011 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 107
2012 Camping Stats
Nights camping 133 - Nights camping in my Z 128
2013 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 66 Nights
tlhdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:11 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
While I'm very new to RVs and campers, I figured out on my Qwest 8U that I had to open the access panel on the outside of the trailer to select the power source. I've only tried AC and DC but not Propane all by itself. I have an issue with my furnace as well but I'll start a new thread as not to hijack this one.

gerrit is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.