Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2012, 04:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2
New to the forum

Greetings. Just brought our '95 Jayco Cardinal SD home and started checking it out. The surge brake reservoir is dry and full of crud. The lines don't look very good either. We're probably going to be camping close to home. TV is '89 F-150. How critical are the brakes? I just replaced surge brakes with electrics on my 18' flat trailer and it was pretty simple. Can I do the same with this TT? Are the hubs compatible? Thanks for any info.

Indianaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
Quahog's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,529
Welcome to the JOF, Indianaguy. Enjoy!

Mike, Sue, Sissy and Little Man

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:06 PM   #3
Site Team
Denise's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 9,987
Can't help you with your towing questions but would like to welcome you to the JOF Indianaguy!
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt

CLICK HERE to save 30% $$ or more off your next Jayco RV
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:57 PM   #4
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Posts: 72
You may want to check state law, it may require breaks on such a huge trailer. Nice camper by the way. Plus that's a lot of weight behind you. Should you have to stop suddenly, the camper may just want to keep going.
JayKo 141
Minneapolis, Mn
TV: Any Chevy will do
2005 Jayco 1007 - 2007 - 2012
2010 Jayko 141J - 2012 -
Jayko 141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:46 PM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2

Thanks for the comments. Talked to the local RV supply folks this AM and they think I can put electric brakes on. I'll know when I pull a wheel and take a look at the drum.

Now have another puzzle. When we looked at the camper, the owner was showing us around and flipped on all three overhead lights. When I put the top up and tried the lights, none of them work. I'm connected to 110. The AC works and all of the outlets work but not the lights. I bought a new bulb and tried it in one of the fixtures and it doesn't work. The outside light works ok. The only circuit breakers I can find are near the floor, to the rear of the converter panel. There are only two of them and both are on. I tried switching them off and then on but no lights. Can anyone offer suggestions as to where to start troubleshooting?

Indianaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 01:23 PM   #6
Site Team
Crabman's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 13,888
Welcome to the forum!

2004 Chevy 2500HD Crew Cab 6.0l, 4.10r

2010 Jayco Jayflight 28BHS
Reese Strait Line with Dual Cam
P3 Brk controller
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 11:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
Jagiven's Avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,177
I am not familiar with that model trailer, but I expect there might a wire that you need to hook up. If so, most likely it will be alongside the forward roof extension on the driver’s side. There might be a hidden flap that the wire runs through. I hope this makes sense.

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.