Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-17-2017, 12:23 PM   #1

Solar?

hey I'm new to the Solar systems? Does anyone have a recommendation or thoughts as to how about going this route? What are you using the solar setup to do?
technicalspectical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 12:38 PM   #2

A place to start might be the RVing with SOLAR group in this site. You'll find it under 'community' and then click on 'social groups' and then 'view all groups'.
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 12:47 PM   #3

Solar

We started out with a portable system from Harbor Freight in 2009. Went to a permanent system on our 16 Eagle and love it.We piece mealed the system together.The package systems were double what we spent.Attached is Jayco's load chart for campers.That's the first question most retailers will want to know.How much power do you use! Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Power usage chart Jayco.PDF (51.1 KB, 38 views)
bdreinv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 01:51 PM   #4

I built my own solar panels from parts I found on ebay. (2, 60 watt panels) I have done tests out camping and at home in our yard. Shadows from trees ruin your solar power production, even a shadow the size of your hand will drop the production by a huge margin. I camp in the trees and have bought the Honda generator pair to run the A/C and charge batteries. Do you know how much solar power it takes to run the A/C? My wife has health issues (not life threatening) and needs to stay cool in summer and warm in winter.
Duke4857 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 10:53 AM   #5
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by technicalspectical View Post