Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-27-2011, 12:31 PM   #1

Question Surge Brakes - Worth it to install?

Hi everyone, this is my first post and I'm completely new to camping. We picked up our 2011 1007 model on Friday and took it to a Jellystone campground Friday night to ease us into camping. Besides the awning , everything went really smooth!

I have a question though, we live in Illinois where its pretty flat. I am towing this with my 2010 Honda minivan and have the Honda tow package installed. However, in 3 weeks we are going to go to Pittsburgh and Hershey PA where it is quite mountainous. Should I have the surge brakes installed? It's a 10' box and weighs approximately 1850lbs with all my stuff in it.

The dealer thinks probably not worth it, but I am afraid of those long steep inclines.. its bad enough when you aren't towing a big box behind you.

Any thoughts or advice would really be appreciated.
Penns215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:37 PM   #2

I had surge brakes on an old trailer and it was a problem backing up an incline, they always locked up. Just use a good electric brake controller like the Prodigy p2 or p3 and it will work great.
82corvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:59 PM   #3

Hmm, I don't have electric brakes either. Dealer is telling me to drop the transmission into 2nd gear as I go down the mountain... It's about $1000 to install the electric brakes and brake controller and wiring, etc.
Old 06-27-2011, 01:16 PM   #4

Hey Penns215! Welcome to the Jayco Forum! If you get some time come on over to the new member forum and introduce yourself.

Glad your first trip went well! Those awnings can be a little tricky until you figure them out.