Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-25-2020, 10:44 AM   #1
afd

Exclamation Condensation turning to ICE on my walls?

Hello everyone! This is my first post here and I am new to RVing... we bought our 2020 16RK last November and now find ourselves living in it in the Kootenay region of BC, Canada (Rocky Mountains). I hope this post is in the right place... I'm hoping our fellow fulltimers will have some thoughts on this!
The last few weeks we have developed condensation issues. It started on the windows (fine, we can deal with that), then it has started to show up on the plastic trim between the roof and the walls (also fine, we ordered a dehumidifier, hasn't arrived yet), but this morning, the condensation turned to ICE in the front bedroom area. We have an oil filled heater set at around 20C/70F that sits in the middle of the trailer and the propane furnace is set to kick on at 18C/65F as backup. The ice is between the wall and the plywood bed platform. This area is above the storage bays accessed from outside. It is always cold in this area and it doesn't get good airflow (we should get a fan). We don't have a hygrometer yet, but the humidity doesn't seem especially high (we shower with the vent on and run the stove vent if cooking steamy things).
It was especially cold last night, -12C/10F. Our water pipes are all fine. The ice build up cannot be normal though. I am thinking that there is a manufacturing error and the insulation in the front of our trailer is missing or has gaps? I am worried there may be water inside the walls that I cannot wipe up and we will have mold and major damage down the line. Would love some advice before I call the dealer or Jayco.
Pictures are ice built up on the mattress () and on the wall/plywood mattress platform (it is all ice though it looks like water). The icy area is marked in red on the floorplan.