Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-23-2015, 11:48 AM   #1

Freeze up?

Well, I'm new to this RV'ing, and thought I'd ask a question here. I've been living in my 338RETS since the second week of January, but have just now experienced the coldest weather since setting up. I woke up this morning, and all my faucets were running fine, but my toilet would not run? Upon further inspection my fresh water tank which had ~2/3 fill is now showing as empty. I'm wondering if my FW tank and toilet line could have frozen when everything else seems to be fine? I have kept the unit heat on the whole time, and it has the climate shield package which should be good to the single digit temperatures we experienced last night. Thoughts?
gratefulbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 12:01 PM   #2

what kind of temperatures are you experiencing? for how long? Can you tell where the water pipe for the toilet run? For example mine run inside the main trailer, in and under all the cabinets. You might be able to open the cabinet doors to get a little more heat in one of the utility areas.

Tank could have froze, you could turn off the hose bib and turn on the pump and see if you have liquid water in the tank.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 05:12 PM   #3

My guess is that your FW tank gauge has some ice on it. It looks like your furnace is well-positioned to heat the water lines in the sinks and tub but the toilet is further away and somewhat separated from the furnace. You may want to get under your trailer and see if there are any gaps that need to be filled with foam (Home Depot). I think Jayco does a nice job of closing in the bottom but there are always some gaps.