Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-29-2016, 05:51 PM   #1

travelling alone

hi, just turned 66 and wondering if anyone has ideas on travelling with others. I'm trying to get from boston, to California this year to see my son. I've completely restored and re invented my 2005 165. you can look up posts on what I've done so far. I'd rather not travel alone. I have friends / girlfriends that would go but timing is a problem.i'm looking for groups, or individuals that may travel together. I belong to good sam and AAA, so I'm protected in a sense. I just don't feel comfortable travelling in this great old country of ours. time or route is not really a problem. even some ideas on safe routes would be nice. I'm an in shape carpenter of over 50 years, so I'm capable. I also have a nephew in Kansas city and friends in florida., that could make a difference in the route I choose.I'm just looking for some input on how I could do this and not be so paranoid about the trip...thanks for any thoughts
rewcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 06:02 PM   #2

What are your fears?

Mechanical breakdown: get good insurance coverage and a cell phone.
The boogyman? A 12 ga. shotgun and a loud dog.
The law? Slow down. and signal your intentions.
Old 02-29-2016, 07:06 PM   #3

Don't carry magazines over 10 round capacity.
You live and learn, or you don't live long.
If you don't punish your children, life will.
tuckerdog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 09:56 AM   #4

Pay attention to your "spidey sense". If something doesn't feel right, get out of there.
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 11:32 AM   #5

Being with a group is a great idea. I bet if you planned it right, you could attend some kind of group outing or festival every day of your travel across the country.