Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-19-2018, 04:45 PM   #1

Stratford, Ontario Campground Recommendations

I'm looking to travel from SW Michigan to see a play at the Avon Theater in Stratford, ON. I'm just beginning to research the campgrounds in the area for a 28' TT (2016 model X254). I'm looking for recommendations.

A couple drawbacks are...

- This is a maiden voyage for my TT that I bought new this year as a dealer leftover. I will probably do an overnight stay in the driveway but no sewer hookups to test. I'm coming from a pop-up.

- I never camped in Canada so I'm not sure what to expect at the border in either direction with a TT in tow (traveling through Sarnia/Bluewater Bridge).

- It's early in the season for some in the north but I'm looking to go the weekend of May 4th (two weeks away).

Tips and campground suggestions are welcome. A big advance thanks for any who chime in!

Jerry

Jerry B.
"Stateboy" (Formerly "36fire412")
SW Lower Michigan
2016 X254
2012 Toyota Tundra Crewmax TRD 4x4
stateboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 05:32 PM   #2

Have you crossed the border before? Crucial info.
I have been crossing two to three times a year for many years so I am in the database. Last year was our first with a TT and there was no difference and no trailer inspection.
If you are new to crossing you may be scrutinized more closely. Just be honest and don't volunteer anything. Just answer the questions.
Its not too early.. Stratford is way south of me but I have never camped there to give you any camping advice.
Wildwood Conservation Area is the only campsite I found on Google. I have friends in the area and the ice storm last week did lots of damage.
https://www.wildwoodconservationarea.ca/blank-2

2021 GMC Canyon
2021 Jayco 212QB
WDH ; Anderson
2012 Honda Ridgeline not towing anymore
2016 195 RB traded in