Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-02-2011, 07:11 AM   #1

Jayflight ONLY for Boondocking!

Yes, the title is correct. I am a newbie that bought a Jayflight 26ft bh ONLY for boondocking on my hunting property. I am supposed to pick it up from the dealer in a couple of weeks and was wondering if anyone had a list of items I should have the dealer add to the trailer to make it as boondock-worthy as possible (i.e. another battery?, what size generator?different wiring?? etc)
My trips will only be 2-3 days at a time with an occasional 4 or 5 day stint.

ALL help/advice will be greatly appreciated s I am not very handy and would like the dealer to do as much of the work as possible.
jlibasci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:31 PM   #2

If you are going to leave your unit between trips, or when parked at home not plugged in, make sure you either have a battery cut-off swith or remove your wire from battery. You have systems that run 100% of time that will completely drain and kill your battery.

Another option is a sufficiently sized solar panel that keeps your battery charged.
Old 09-03-2011, 09:43 AM   #3

I would say the biggest thing that would help you is a dual set of batteries. If you manage them well you should be able to get through 2 or 3 days unless you have to run the furnace a considerable amount. If it were me, I would camp a couple of times before you load up on too much. Have your dealer give you one of their accessory catalogs and then go through it while you are sitting in the camper.

2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 07:20 AM   #4