Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-27-2019, 10:29 AM   #1

Long term Boondocking

Just trying to get ideas on how ppl do extended boondocking, as it has its share of challenges and I am new to most of this.

I was recently granted access to an incredible waterfront lot to park my trailer on, only problem is theres no water fill up and no dumping station. I live in Canada and would imagine there must be places to fill up and dump before and after your stay off the grid. Any info on how ppl go about this sort of thing and how long you can typically do this for would be great, just collecting ideas.

I basically thought the best way would be hopefully gain access to a provincial parks filling station and fill water tank before heading to the spot, then at the end of the stay head back to the provincial park to dump. Is this the best or only way to go about things? thanks for the
Javin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 11:14 AM   #2

Sounds like you will be pulling the tt in and out of this spot. Not acting as a seasonal. What do you define as long term?

We have done what you have described many times.

How long can you go on a set of tanks really depends on you needs and habits.

My DW and I came from a background of backpacking and mountaineering, so water conservation is no big deal for us. Our FW tank is about 40 gallons. With just our immediate family, we can go 5 days before running out of FW. We take tea cup showers, no excessive running of water. Example, wet your hands under a slow stream of water, turn off, soap up, rinse under slow stream. Dishes, toothbrushing, and so forth all done the same way. We will use dish pans to wash dishes, and the water goes down the toilet (watch out for silverware that was missed) this help keep the grey tank from filling up to quickly.