Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2015, 10:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
thecampingcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ringwood
Posts: 276
10 gauge wire

Greetings! Will I be OK running my AC on my Greyhawk in my dads driveway in florida on his house current. 15amp with a 10 gauge ext cord for one week. At Home i hsve a custom 30 amp hookup on 110. Any thoughts. I know its not ideal for AC motor but cant leave pets withoit acThanks!
__________________

thecampingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 10:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,046
The cord is OK, and it really shouldn't hurt the ac. The problem I see is the breaker tripping periodically.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 10:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
check Dads Breaker box and see if he has any empty slots You could then put a 20 amp breaker in and wire it to an outlet That should give you enough power to run the A/C without it tripping which may happen on a 15 amp circuit. Just remember 10 Gauge is good for 30 amps so any fuse/ CB less than 30 is ok to use but will be more prone to trip faster. 12 gauge 20 amps and 14 gauge 15 amps
__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 10:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,011
We were not able to run the AC from a 15A circuit but found a 20A worked fine.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 11:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
thecampingcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ringwood
Posts: 276
You know it will be a garage outlet i just assumed 15 maybe its 20 available in anycase i certainly could by 12 or 14 gauge trip is not for a little while. Also if i know which breaker is garage outlet is it a big deal changing that breaker to 20 amp
thecampingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 11:37 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,397
I use a 10-GAUGE (10-3) contractor type 50-foot extension cord running to my 30A Trailers. One trailer is plugged into a 20AMP breaker in the garage that has nothing else on the circuit. The other POPUP trailer is plugged into a 15 AMP CIRCUIT that is also shared with the garage lights etc...

I use one of those RV30A-15A long ADAPTERs (WALMART) to connect the trailer shore power cable to the extension cord end.

Everything in the trailer works fine. I have to watch what is on at the same time otherwise it will trip the Garage breaker.

We use the air conditioners alot during the summer months. Also the bigger trailer is our extra FRIDGE supporting the house.

We spend the nights in it several times when parked at home. Grandkids have a ball in it...

I also use one of those RV120VAC VOLTMETERs that is plugged into a receptacle where I cab get a good glance at it. This has the PRINTED SAFE SCALE on the meter. If the AC VOLTAGE is low I won't turn on anything that is high wattage like the Air Conditioner.

This has been my setup since 2009 here at the house.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 11:40 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecampingcat View Post
Greetings! Will I be OK running my AC on my Greyhawk in my dads driveway in florida on his house current. 15amp with a 10 gauge ext cord for one week. At Home i hsve a custom 30 amp hookup on 110. Any thoughts. I know its not ideal for AC motor but cant leave pets withoit acThanks!
It depends upon many things the first being how big the A/C unit is.

Are there any other loads on the receptacle circuit you plan to use? Other loads are not a good thing.

A solid 120 volt system voltage helps.

If the wire run from the power panel to the 15 amp receptacle is short then that is in your favor. Using a heavy duty cord as you mention is a good thing. It is best to use as short a cord as possible. A dog bone adapter configuration using no extension cord is probably best.

The issue is likely going to be the power pulled during start-up. The A/C unit will pull very high loads as the compressor motor works to get up to speed. If you get past the start-up current issues you're probably be fine with running current.

Once your A/C unit is running for a time check the temperature of the breaker with the back of your finger. If it is just warm you're ok. If it is hot you may be pushing things a bit too far.

FWIW. vic
VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 11:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
thecampingcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ringwood
Posts: 276
He doesn't know I bought it trying to surprise him roll onto his acre from jersey.. he'd be expecting a buick...lol
thecampingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 11:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
A 20 amp breaker would be better. I have run my AC for a while on a 20 amp breaker with no issues. Never for any extended periods. You say your dad is in Florida, do you know where is circuit panel is located? I bet it is in the garage, which you probably will be parked in front of, you might be able to add a 30 amp outlet right next to the panel. Then just plug in, you might need a heavy duty RV extension cord, but then you do not have to worry about the dogs at all.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 12:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
thecampingcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ringwood
Posts: 276
You know its funny, at pdi they are running my ac on medium outdoor green extention..i knew that wasnt right!
__________________

thecampingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.