Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2013, 02:57 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
lx22f/c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Friendswood
Posts: 917
13,500 AC or 15,000 BTU AC?

No still 30 amp. My 07 314 bhds has the 15,000 btu a/c and is 30 amp
__________________

lx22f/c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,006
I seem to recall while pouring over the pricing and such that adding the front bedroom A/C to one of the smaller 5th's created an auto upgrade of the servce from 30 to 50 amp. But that's adding a 2nd A/C. I believe the 13.5K - 15K BTU A/C upgrade does not require changing your TT from 30 to 50Amp service.
__________________

__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:43 PM   #13
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdorant View Post
Good question... anybody know? Does it then make your trailer a 50 amp and not a 30 amp?
No. Still 30 amp.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:00 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 203
We had a 322FKS Eagle (2010) That came from the Factory with a 15,000 Btu AC and it was a 30 amp unit. I put a soft start capacitor on it and had no problem starting the Ac with my Kipor 3000 gen set.
__________________
hausknwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:15 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdorant View Post
Good question... anybody know? Does it then make your trailer a 50 amp and not a 30 amp?
No it doesn't, I have the 15K on mine and it is 30 amp to answer the question.

If you have the option, I would get two 15K units or at least one 15K and perhaps a smaller secondary unit to back up the other. Reason I say this is because out here in So Cal. I had an occasion to go camping in our local desert. Outside temp was at least 115 degrees and the AC didn't make much of a difference. Ended up leaving early because of the heat. If the AC would have been able to keep up with the heat I would have probably stayed. I don't mind being in high temp but you need a place to be able to escape to if you so desire. TT was still upwards of 95 to 100 degrees inside.

But back to the question, I don't know if running two AC units would make it 50 amps, I don't think so as much as just not being able to start up both units at the same time. That is where the big current draw would be at start up, once the units are running the current draw goes down.

One other thing to keep in mind, running the AC limits what you can run simultaneously because once running it'll draw about 12 amps continuously. At start up, it can draw upwards of 21 amps. Just a thought FWIW.
E&J push'n wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:22 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdorant View Post
Good question... anybody know? Does it then make your trailer a 50 amp and not a 30 amp?
No it will not make your trailer go to 50 amp service.
__________________
No I am NOT retired. I work full time.:D

Tracy from Central PA

2010 Jayco 17Z Ex-Port
2004 Ford Explorer V8 with the tow package
2010 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 132 - Nights Camping in My Z 102
2011 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 107
2012 Camping Stats
Nights camping 133 - Nights camping in my Z 128
2013 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 66 Nights
tlhdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:20 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 368
My trailer did not come with a second AC. I did order a 15k unit. The trailer did come pre wired for a second AC unit so therefore it came with a 50 amp cord.
__________________
2004 Silverado duramax
2012 Jayco Eagle 330RLTS
Added fireplace https://www.jaycoowners.com/showthread.php?t=5015
Added Bedroom light switch and outlet https://www.jaycoowners.com/showthread.php?t=7582
dlfeather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:04 PM   #18
Site Team
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,004
We ordered our tt with the 15k unit. Each summer we wind up somewhere on our travels where temps are up into the 105-116 degree range. Our 29' tt stays quite comfy in the summers
__________________
moderator
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:26 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
No, the trailer would still be set up for 30A service unless you ordered that as an upgrade. If it came from the factory with two Acs, then it would have 50A service.
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:15 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 336
Like the others said go bigger. My last camper had a 15k and it was on a 30amp. There is getting to be alot of 50amp around now. Here in Iowa if it has a 50amp and you only have a 30amp,you pay for the 50amp. I used the adapter and got along fine. I do like my 50amp.
__________________

Cruzinfools is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.