Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2024, 01:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
A/C tripping breaker

I've been having a problem with my mach 15 air conditioer I purchased in Oct. 2021. If the A/C runs anywhere from a few minutes to an hour it trips the breaker. I have checked the following values
Capacitor #1 a 70 read 69.7
Capacitor #2 a 7.5 read 7.7
Total amp draw at the 20 amp breaker was 13.2
Compressor amp draw was 7.9
Fan amp draw was 2.8
Changed breaker and had the same issues.
Breaker was not hot after tripping.
Does anyone have any idea what the issue might be?
Thanks
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 01:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,882
With your other checks, what voltage were you seeing with the A/C running? ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 03:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigav View Post
With your other checks, what voltage were you seeing with the A/C running? ~CA
121 volts at the breaker
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 05:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 701
Maybe a loose connection somewhere.
I'd start from the breaker to the a/c unit.
OK, I'm not an electrician, but that's what I'd try next.
Paulb12
PaulB12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 05:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
JimD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Inland Empire, California
Posts: 2,078
By chance does your test meter have a record function where it will save the highest and lowest values? If so, monitor the voltage and see how low it swings when the breaker trips.

Do you have a generator? If so, does the breaker trip when the AC is powered by the generator?
__________________


Jim

Retired electronic technician (45 years in the field)
2017 Greyhawk 29W (solar & many other mods)
wife (maybe I should have given her top billing)
JimD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 05:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,882
I was thinking the same as the above comments. I am leaning on that the fact that the breaker wasn't hot (hot is subjective though) which would indicate that a bad connection or intermittent short could be the cause (magnetic trip vs a thermal trip of the breaker). I would definitely check all the connections. ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 08:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 1,146
do you have a heat strip in that AC? Could be a bad controller in the unit turning on a heat strip.
__________________
2022 Jayco Pinnacle 32RLTS, Onan 5500, 380 Watts
Solar, GoPower MPPT, Four 6 Volt batteries, EMS-HW50C, Hughes Hardwired Autoformer, Disc brakes and 17.5" tires

2017 Ram Cummins 3500, 4x4, Dually Aisin, 3.73
B&W hitch
Learjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 08:50 PM   #8
RPR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Owens Cross Roads
Posts: 3,289
Condenser coils clean ?
RPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2024, 05:07 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulB12 View Post
Maybe a loose connection somewhere.
I'd start from the breaker to the a/c unit.
OK, I'm not an electrician, but that's what I'd try next.
Paulb12
Thanks, but that was one of the first things we tried.
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2024, 05:11 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learjet View Post
do you have a heat strip in that AC? Could be a bad controller in the unit turning on a heat strip.
Thanks, but no heat strip.
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2024, 05:12 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPR View Post
Condenser coils clean ?
Not sure, will check today.
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2024, 05:18 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimD View Post
By chance does your test meter have a record function where it will save the highest and lowest values? If so, monitor the voltage and see how low it swings when the breaker trips.

Do you have a generator? If so, does the breaker trip when the AC is powered by the generator?
No, my test meter does not have that function but I will see about getting a hold of one.
I will also run it on the generator today if it stops raining.
Thanks
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2024, 08:01 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
Well its been over 24 hrs and the breaker has not tripped again. Don't know that I did anything to fix it but I'm not complaining. Have ran it continuously and set it where it would come on and off. Thanks for all the help. You may not have heard the last from me on this problem.
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2024, 07:53 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2024
Location: nowhere
Posts: 11
Still working for you? I'm having the same issue with a Mach 15. Initial startup was always fine, but after running a few minutes (or during a restart), it would overload the generator. I added a soft start, which seemed to mask the issue (not occurring as frequently), but now it will either overload the generator or trip the breaker. Tripping the breaker more often than overloading the gen.
cpayne5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2024, 08:09 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milpitas
Posts: 1,675
The one thing not mentioned above is to make sure the campground breaker is rated for your full amp capacity. Seems obvious but we have experienced campgrounds where we reserved a 30 amp campsite only to discover that they only had a 20 and a 50 amp set up. We knew carry a 50 to 30 amp dogbone.
__________________
2019 Chevy express 2500 Van Coversion. 2017 Jayco 23MRB: 26' total and Glacier Package. 2 Renogy solar panels. Married 49 years. Haley the mutt, 4 years old. "Excited to learn new things everyday and humbled by those who offer to help." And very grateful to our Moderators!
travelingjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2024, 06:56 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
camjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Fl
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpayne5 View Post
Still working for you? I'm having the same issue with a Mach 15. Initial startup was always fine, but after running a few minutes (or during a restart), it would overload the generator. I added a soft start, which seemed to mask the issue (not occurring as frequently), but now it will either overload the generator or trip the breaker. Tripping the breaker more often than overloading the gen.
Mine is still working fine after 2 or 3 days. The only thing I did that might of helped is I noticed some slight burning on one leg of the recepticle I was plugged into. I changed it and it has worked since. That recepticle is in my garage as we had moved the 5th wheel into the driveway to get ready for a trip. It tripped for 2 or 3 days. The funny thing is it was tripping being plugged into a different recepticle out on the pad with a different cord. Once it started tripping I turned it off and turned on my 2nd AC and it ran for days without tripping. Who knows. I will just have to keep an eye on it going forward. I will need both AC's since we will be camping in Florida.
camjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 03:04 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 448
Doesn't matter what I am running on I seem to pop a breaker as well. But I know what not to run while I am staying cool. In this heat its ac over the microwave.
spark of insanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 04:15 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chino
Posts: 1
A/C breaker trip

Check the compressor terminals for burned or loose wires. REPLACE the compressor/fan motor run capacitor. If it has a real contactor check for burned contacts, loose burned wires. Use some contact cleaner, Spiders love getting in the smallest spaces, use a can of air and blow the control panel out, not an air compressor. Coils clean? Rinse condenser coil with water, not using anything stronger than Green Clean. You can see the evaporator coil, let it dry then vacuum, rinse with Green Clean if needed. GOOD LUCK!!
ejuengling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 10:11 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Southwest
Posts: 18
I had that problem a few years ago. Ended up being a loose connection on the neutral bar (white wires) inside the breaker panel.
End of the road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2024, 04:24 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2024
Location: nowhere
Posts: 11
I just ran the A/C for two hours with two brand new Honda EU2200Is in parallel with a bonding plug in place and verified neutral-ground bond.

The inside temperature started at 100 degrees. The thermostat cut it off at 90. 10 minutes later, I slid the thermostat over to 70ish to kick everything back on. The generators revved up, I got an overload alert on my phone (bluetooth connectivity to the gens) and the 20 amp breaker for the A/C tripped.

I didn't have an amp clamp on the compressor to measure inrush, unfortunately. I was able to get it to start up a few minutes later and am going to hopefully get an amp clamp on it next start up.

This is what I've done...
* no loose wires in the panel
* installed soft start
* new breaker
* new capacitors
* new wago lever nuts in place of all twist nuts
* various generators (9500 non-inverter, 4500 inverter, 2x 2200w inverters in parallel)
* verified inrush and running amps are within spec

What could be causing the issue at restart?
cpayne5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.