Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-01-2022, 05:52 PM   #1

Atwood Water Heater Leaking - CG6AA-10E

I'm new to the Jayco owners and posting hoping someone can help with a leaking water heater. I have a 2010 Jayco Jay Flight G2 25RKS

My story: I winterized, and bypassed the water heater. This is the 8th year I have done the exact same procedure.

Today I discovered a small leak in the hot water output (top) connection on the tank. Water was dripping from the bottom of the top tank insert where the PEX female connector screws on. I first thought it was a cone washer that failed and replaced it. Not so much.

I have attached two photos, #1 is an overview of the back of the tank, showing both the cold intake (on bottom) and the hot output (top). #2 is a close up zoom of just the top hot output.

I made two observations for #2 the closeup.

First, the female PEX connector appears to screw onto a gray plastic insert which threads into the tank. I know its plastic, when I had it apart to replace the cone washer. It looks like a plumber’s putty was used to seal the insert.

Second, if you expand the close-up photo for a closer view, you will see a very small horizonal crack just below the insert corner (6'oclock position). This is where I believe the water drip is coming from. To be sure, I used paper towel on the gray outer device treads to see if the cone washer was the source - it was not. The water drip collects right at the crack.

Attwood - Dometic has discontinued this model and I not finding any parts, i.e., a new gray plastic threaded insert for the hot output.

I hoping someone will have some insight that may help me.

When I googled plumbers’ putty, it suggests one reason to use it, was the threads are not bonded and the threaded connection can be removed. Not sure about that.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails