Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-15-2021, 07:50 PM   #1

Backup Camera

Hi Everyone,

I've got a 2021 QBW Rocky Mountain Baha that I tow with a 2011 F-150. I'm still a rookie, so looking for all the help I can get. When I bought I was told that mine was pre wired for a backup camera. I didn't think I'd need one but now that I've been out several times, I'm ok with getting one just for that extra comfort. Problem is, I don't know what to get. Any thoughts? Is it pre wired for a specific brand? I saw some articles on here about Furrion but wanted to see if thats all I can get or if there are other options. Thanks for the help!

AJ
AJ13NUSAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 08:11 PM   #2

We have the Furrion back-up camera on our 264BHW that also came pre-wired for a camera. Don't know if the pre-wired mounting bracket fits other brands, but I assume that it will.

After a couple of camping seasons of use, I find the camera is good to see traffic coming up behind us while traveling, but it doesn't do me much good while backing into a camping site. The camera visuals are just too limited for that purpose. However the audio portion of the camera is a real benefit because I can hear my backup spotter much better.

Also, I've noticed the camera will periodically lose the wireless signal while traveling, but it usually links back up within a few seconds. I've been told that a signal repeater mounted at the front of our trailer should eliminate that problem. However its not that big of a deal and I don't want to spend the extra money.
Old 02-15-2021, 08:13 PM   #3