Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-05-2013, 11:30 AM   #1

Bigger Valve on fresh Tank?

Hi with my 90 gallon fresh tank. I generally fill it for the weekend, then let left over out at the dump station.

But the sloooooow valves dont finish in time, so I close up, and dump the rest in my driveway.

Is there a way I could reasonably put a large gate valve on the fresh tank? like a 1.5 inch spa/pool valve?

My uncles class a has one, and it would be nice to dump the tank in a minute or two.
Ecfeick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:47 AM   #2

I'm not an expert but I would think you would be limited to the diameter of the threaded hole in the tank.If its bigger than your existing vale it would be a simple matter of just installing a valve the size of the opening.Drilling and taping threads for a bigger hole would be pretty risky.
1 wife
2 spoiled cihuahua's
rugerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:35 PM   #3

Don't fill it up so much if it's only a weekend. :-)

2012 Jayco X17Z SOLD!:Beerchug:
LongIslandCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:50 PM   #4

I would be a little nervous drilling a hole in the tank. But with a little research to determine material properties and what type of glues would work, it might not be so bad.

My HTT also has a tiny little drain valve, probably the same one on your TT. The hose between the tank and the valve appears to be ½” diameter. I have been thinking about replacing the valve with a ¼ turn ball valve.

If the existing valve is 1/8” diameter the cross sectional area is 0.05in^2 (A= pi * r^2). If you upgrade to a ½” valve you will have a cross sectional area of 0.78 in^2. Which is almost 16 times larger area for flow, assuming there are no flow restrictions in the valves.

I would start by changing out the valve.

2012 Jayco X23B