Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-03-2017, 09:00 PM   #1

Bike Rack?

Hi guys,
What bike racks do you suggest?
I have a factory installed 2" receiver hitch to mount to. I would need it to hold 4 bikes (2 adult and 2 kids)
Thanks
05 f150 5.4 v8 (sold)
nwminnesota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 09:52 PM   #2

The only 4-bike “RV/TT Approved” rack that I am aware of is from Swagman. It’s a 4 bike frame hanging type.

None of the wheel lock types are approved for RV TT use in configurations beyond two bikes.

I’ve been using the swagman without issue for 4 years.

At one point I thought I wanted a wheel mount type since we have 3 “female frame” bikes that are challenged on the frame hanging type of rack. I purchased a cargo rack and bungeed the bikes on, it worked but not as secure.
2012 Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
clubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 07:02 AM   #3

I've been running a Swagman three bike rack, and really like it.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
2022 Chevy 3000HD Dmax
TxLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 07:06 AM   #4

Bike Rack?

I️ have the Swagman Trailhead 4 RV bike rack. As the name implies it’s a camper rated 4 bike rack. Have had no issues with it.

http://www.swagman.net/product/trailhead4-rv/
SouthCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 02:25 PM   #5

"RV rated" why would it matter? I don't really think there would be a big difference....
05 f150 5.4 v8 (sold)
Old 11-04-2017, 02:49 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by nwminnesota View Post
"RV rated" why would it matter? I don't really think there would be a big difference....