Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-28-2011, 07:53 PM   #1

Black water routine maintenance??

Ok folks, I'm new to this and am curious as to why the water level indicator continuously shows my Black Water tank at 2/3 full despite having drained it and letting it sit with the valve open for close to an hour now. I know you're not supposed to let it remain open but it doesn't make sense that it's not thoroughly flushing itself out. Can anyone give me some recommendations on how to cure this?

This is at a stationary campsite I'm living at so I don't have the option of driving down the road to loosen everything up. I've been living in it for a week now but have yet to purchase any of the chemical packs that are supposed to break down the toilet paper and bodily waste. Could this be the issue?

Any help is well appreciated,
Michael
MikeS82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:57 PM   #2

Get used to it. Paper or some other solid is stuck on the sensor. If you have a flushing sysytem, fill it until the full senson comes on and then drain again. Many times that will flush it on out.
Old 07-28-2011, 10:00 PM   #3

Yup, that black tank gauge is just something that works when your trailer is new. If you flush it really good it might work again for a while.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:04 PM   #4

I think the best method for checking your black tank level is to flush the toilet and look down the hole....much more accurate than the gauges.

2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 07:47 AM   #5