Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-23-2021, 02:42 AM   #1

Catalytic converter missing

Hello, I need help identifying a missing catalytic converter. I am no mechanic, but I do know the sound my Honda CR-V normally makes. Monday evening, was walking to my car ready for work, when I turn on the ignition, a roaring sounds scared me, check engine light as well is on. I am like what the heck. At first I thought it could be that I had bought a lemon you know from dealer. I called dealer for service but they tell me they were closed, to call tomorrow morning at 7 am when they open. Next morning Tuesday, I call and tell them about the noise and they schedule me an appointment for Wednesday morning, I like ok. That same Tuesday I do some research online about that weird loud noise my car makes. I come across catalytic converters being stolen because of their material and family member hear in the news about that same kind of theft. So I go look under my car and I see a similar gap on the exhaust I seen online and the news. Is this something real? Did someone stole my catalytic converter?
Attached Thumbnails
7221229E-CAC8-42FD-8418-01AC8791DD42.jpg  
Flak87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 05:23 AM   #2

Yes. Catalytic converter theft is very common. I work at a Ford dealer and see it on a normal basis. Mainly on bigger SUV's and pickups. But there are some foreign models that are very valuable on the market. They're sold for their platinum mostly.
W/Air Lift air bags (front & rear)
Equal-I-Zer™ WDH & B&W Companion
TWP723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 05:39 AM   #3

Is this something real?

>>Is this something real? <<

Troopers See Increase In Catalytic Converter Thefts From Vehicles – First State Update

I think you answered your own question.