Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-25-2013, 08:47 PM   #1

Unhappy Chemical smells making me sick

We bought our used camper last week and we are preparing for our first trip soon. I admit that I'm a city girl but I've been very excited about trying this camper thing here's my problem; smells bother me and when I was cleaning the toilet today it smelled like chemicals and I started gagging! Is there something I can use in the RV to mask the chemical smell? I don't even know if it is chemicals but there is a smell. I'm beginning to question this whole thing! Sorry this is so weird!
mcfadden5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:52 PM   #2

I'm new to this as well, but someone will come along and give you some tips.

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat Supercrew 4X4, 3.5L Ecoboost, 3.73 (traded)
2005 Jayco 1207 (second PUP)
1976 Coleman Brandywine (first PUP)
katgar05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:06 PM   #3

Sorry to hear.... Used Rv's usually burn off those 'chemical' smells after being used a few times. How old is your 'new' rv? Can you tell us more about your new "used camper" to help the members here know how to help you further? Thanks.
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:10 PM   #4

It's a 2004 Feather. It was joy used hardly at all and is immaculate, but the bathroom just sells so chemically.
Old 03-25-2013, 10:14 PM   #5

Try flushing the black tank out real good. I've heard that a good cleaning trick is to fill the black tank about halfway with water and dump a couple of large bags of ice cubes down the toilet. Then go tow it around for a while. The sloshing action of the water as well as the sloshing of the ice cubes with soften and knock loose a lot of residual matter clinging to the tank walls. Then go to a dump station and drain the tank.