Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-15-2019, 06:16 PM   #1

Question Curious?

When using the LP for hot water I shut the hwh off for the day after our showers and dish washing. I turn it back on the next AM a half hour before our showers and repeat. I do this to save gas but am I really saving any gas? My buddy does the same with his even if he is using electric to save the element etc. Are we misguided souls here or are we actually saving a buck or two? Don't call us cheap as the DW's already take care of that.
Chet & Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 06:27 PM   #2

I’ve never turned mine off and on. Maybe I’m just lazy but I want hot water when I want it, not planning ahead or forgetting to flip it on and then cold showers before bed. I’ve been doing it that way for over 3 years and no issues. No different that your water heater at home that sits there on for 20 years and more in my opinion. I’ve got enough to keep on my daily checklist without adding HW heater flipping switches.
430 amp/hr 6v battery bank
1000w Renogy hard wired inverter
2011 F350 Lariat, DWR 4x4, 6.7 turbo diesel
2017 Open Range, Mesa Ridge 374BHS
Screwby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 06:29 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Screwby View Post
I’ve never turned mine off and on.
X-2 over a span of 42 years...
Old 07-15-2019, 07:24 PM   #4

its a matter of physics... it takes 8.33 BTU's to heat a gallon of water one degree F. Its the same in the morning or evening.

Technically, you could save a few BTU's in lost heat from storing the heated water, but the difference will never be really measurable from the small amount of propane you would save.
07 Toyota FJC & Yamaha Kodiak 400 ATV

SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 07:28 PM   #5