Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2019, 12:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Cardwell,MT
Posts: 6
Digital thermostat questions

Hi all,
I need to replace our thermostat and would like to go digital. I am looking at the mach airxcel heat/cool unit. Iím looking for opinions from current users. With one degree accuracy I am concerned that units will cycle almost constantly. Is it that accurate and do you feel that your heat/cool units are being harmed at all? I would think Coleman would know what they are doing. Also, do you think the t-stat is durable or do you think there are better options available? I am considering the airxcel because I donít have to fabricate a high/low fan switch,which brings up another question; Do you ever use low fan speed and if so, for what purpose?
Thanks,
Rob
__________________

RMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 01:17 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3
I replaced the analog thermostat in my Eagle HT with a Coleman-Mach digital. Works great and takes the guess work out of selecting a temp setting. This was important for me since animals are in there even when I am not. The thermostat does not cause my a/c to cycle too quickly.

I use the low fan speed for heat cycles since a lower airflow does not give as bad a cooling sensation when the furnace first comes on and briefly blows cold air.
__________________

Marxk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 01:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,830
Many of us on here have made the switch to the Coleman Mach digital and no it doesn't seem to make anything cycle more or less. The swap is easy, wire to wire and I've had mine 4 years now with no problems. If running the A/C don't use the low fan speed because of potential icing of the unit.
__________________
2012 Eagle 320 RLDS
2017 Ford F-250 FX4 Crew STX 6.2l
3.73 E-locker
TCNashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 01:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 9,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMartin View Post
Hi all,
I need to replace our thermostat and would like to go digital. I am looking at the mach airxcel heat/cool unit. Iím looking for opinions from current users. With one degree accuracy I am concerned that units will cycle almost constantly. Is it that accurate and do you feel that your heat/cool units are being harmed at all? I would think Coleman would know what they are doing. Also, do you think the t-stat is durable or do you think there are better options available? I am considering the airxcel because I donít have to fabricate a high/low fan switch,which brings up another question; Do you ever use low fan speed and if so, for what purpose?
Thanks,
Rob

You didn't post what type of RV you have.

We replaced our OEM analog thermostat in our TT with a Coleman-Mach digital 3 years ago. LOVE IT! Does it hold to 1 degF? I don't know and don't care; the inside temp is now SO MUCH more stable (minimal high/low temp swings) that I don't bother to look at the temp once I've set it. YES it is ACCURATE compared to my indoor/outdoor thermometer. And, NO!, there is no reason to suspect the narrower temp range by using the digital thermostat is causing any kind of harm to the air cond or furnace. I don't feel any airflow difference on high or low, but there is an increase in noise using the high speed setting.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescue Eydie (min Schnauzer) & Charley (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS, GY Endurance (E), Days: 102 '15, 90 '16, 80 '17, 161 '18
2006 Ford F350 PSD, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, Cmpr. pkg, Equal-i-zer 4-p, Continental ContiTrac TR
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 01:03 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 8
You can use any make of thermostat, I use a Honeywell digital from amazon that is programable and it works great. I just wired mine so I only have high fan I never use low, it only affects your AC. The furnace only has one speed.
diver6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 01:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: johnstown
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by diver6 View Post
You can use any make of thermostat, I use a Honeywell digital from amazon that is programable and it works great. I just wired mine so I only have high fan I never use low, it only affects your AC. The furnace only has one speed.
That is true with the older styles. Most of the new style are using a 3 wire communication system and you can only use a compatible t-stat. You can no longer swap out a factory digital for any residential style stat with out a bunch of extra work !
o2silverado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 01:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 82
I added the Coleman digital thermostat and had constant problems with it resetting itself to its default 72 degrees. I read a thread here that said the problem was the thermostat power was wired to the heater and when the fan turned on it dropped the voltage enough to reset the thermostat. I called Coleman and they said a drop in voltage was the only thing that would cause a reset. So I rewired the thermostat to an unused 12 volt circuit on the power supply and installed a 15 amp fuse. I thought that would solve the problem but after needing the heater last week in south Texas I found out the thermostat was still resetting!

I went to Home Depot and bought a battery powered Honeywell thermostat for about $25 and wired it. Works perfectly! It is a higher quality thermostat than the more expensive Coleman one. The one issue and I am over it already is that it is white. Not sure if Honeywell even has a black model...oh well.

On a side note for our 2nd AC I installed this summer I used a LUX battery powered thermostat. It was only $18 and had a back lit display which the Honeywell doesn't have. Home Depot didn't have a LUX model.
__________________
2018 Eagle HT 28.5RSTS
2015 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi
DNelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 04:49 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Atlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Mechanicsville
Posts: 1,082
I made the switch to digital thermostat within a couple of months of purchasing my TT new. In all my earlier RV's, which didn't have ducted air, I used a cheap Honeywell to take care of business.

However, my latest TT came with ducted air. Because of that, I bought the more expensive Coleman-Mach digital thermostat. I did this because, it was a simply a case of switching wire for wire from the old to the new.

I haven't found it cycles that much more. I did find I could accurately set the temperature I want.
__________________
Erroll and Mary Doss and Duffy (RIP)
2017 Jayco Jay Flight 23RB
2014 F150 SC, 4x4, HD Pkg, Sterling Gray
Atlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 07:46 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Iraqvet05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,413
I tried a Honeywell thermostat in our old 26BH and installed a micro switch to retain the hi/low fan speeds. When I installed it, I got the wiring wrong and tripped the reset on furnace. It took me a few days to figure out my thermostat 12v POS feed came from the furnace so I didn't have A/C in the middle of the summer...ugh. I had to remove the couch to reset the breaker. I gave up on the Honeywell , removed it and installed a Coleman/Mach that worked great and the wiring colors were all matching.
__________________
2018 28BHBE
2017 Ford F250 XLT, 6.2 gasser
2013 26BH (traded)
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 09:02 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 93
There are different sizes thermostats out the. If you are going for a smaller one, pull you current one off the wall and see how big of a hole the factory put in the wall for the wires. One of my holes was huge. Didn't effect me because I wanted one the same as factory size, but if I tried to go smaller it wouldn't have worked.
__________________

__________________
2018 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5BHOK
2017 F350 Platinum, CCLB, 6.7
Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Hitch
vegasguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.