Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2016, 12:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: New Madison
Posts: 28
Furnace Problem

I have searched the forum, still havent found and answer to my problem I have with my furnace. I have a 31GS Greyhawk with an Atwood furnace. When I turn the thermostat up, the fan will immediately turn on, I hear a click or two, once I thought the I heard it ignite. after a few seconds everything will shut down. I have checked and I have propane....Not sure what to check next. Oh...there is a red diode on the circuit board and it seems to be flashing a pattern of 3 flashes.

Thank you
__________________

Tobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 01:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,111
Light the stove and burn it for 20 seconds, that will ensure most of the air is out of the lines.

It's not uncommon the furnace won't light the first time, until propane has made it all the way to the furnace.

The three blinking leds is your fault code. Check the back of the owners manual.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 01:26 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: New Madison
Posts: 28
Thanks for the reply jagiven....I ran the stove for a lil while, still with out success on the furnace. I find nothing in my manual about the codes, My manual is very vague when it comes to the furnace, guess they dont want a novice messing with it.
Tobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 01:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobster View Post
I have searched the forum, still havent found and answer to my problem I have with my furnace. I have a 31GS Greyhawk with an Atwood furnace. When I turn the thermostat up, the fan will immediately turn on, I hear a click or two, once I thought the I heard it ignite. after a few seconds everything will shut down. I have checked and I have propane....Not sure what to check next. Oh...there is a red diode on the circuit board and it seems to be flashing a pattern of 3 flashes.

Thank you
Found this on another site.

Internal Circuit Board fault Steady on, no flashing

Limit switch/Airflow problems 1 flash with 3-second pause

Flame Sense fault 2 flashes with 3-second pause

Ignition Lockout Fault 3 flashes with 3-second pause

This was what he did to fix the problem.

I got some information from other forums after doing an internet search of my problem. I pulled all the electronic leads to check for corrosion. Then I figured out that I wasn't getting enough pressure from my LP tanks to work with the furnace. I was opening the valve too quickly. Everything else worked. Stove, hot water tank and fridge. Once I was able to get enough pressure from the tank into the system the furnace worked perfectly.
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 08:09 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: New Madison
Posts: 28
Thank you Sundancer.....I will chk that the first thing in the morning.... Not sure how to check the pressure to the furnace..but I will chk the contacts.
Tobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 08:14 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Cosmik Debris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 554
Propane tanks have a built in flow valve in case of hose rupture. If you open the valve too fast it mat enable this feature. I'd try ckosing the valves then cracking them open slowly.
__________________
"I might be movin' to Montana soon..."

2013 Eagle 29.5RKS
2013 Ford 6.7L diesel F350
Cosmik Debris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 08:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Cosmik Debris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 554
Propane tanks have a built in flow valve in case of hose rupture. If you open the valve too fast it may enable this feature. I'd try closing the valves then cracking them open slowly.
__________________
"I might be movin' to Montana soon..."

2013 Eagle 29.5RKS
2013 Ford 6.7L diesel F350
Cosmik Debris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 09:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
anav8or's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 235
I had a similar problem with the furnace in our Seneca at the beginning of this season. When I turned the furnace on, the fan would run but the burner would either ignite for a few seconds or not at all. The red LED would show 2 flashes and then pause...flame sense fault according to the manual.

I ended up replacing the circuit board with a Dinosaur brand board. As soon as I hooked the new board up, the furnace operated normally. Truth be told, I also ordered a replacement ignitor and sail switch since I wasn't sure where the problem actually was. Those two items have been added to my "spares" inventory
__________________
Ty & Deb Montag
Columbus, OH
2015 Jayco Seneca 36FK
2014 Honda CR-V toad

anav8or is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 09:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Jersey
Posts: 268
Is there a panel that needs to be removed to find circuit board,i have been having nothing but problems with my heater and I wanna check circuit board and or just replace it and see if that fixes it,I have a Atwood heater
__________________
06 2500 Duramax. Air lift 5000 air bags,Equalizer WDH, EFI live,fass fuel system,4" straight pipe

2015 Jayco Eagle Premier 314BHDS

IBEW local 94 Electrical Worker
314BHDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 04:53 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
anav8or's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by 314BHDS View Post
Is there a panel that needs to be removed to find circuit board,i have been having nothing but problems with my heater and I wanna check circuit board and or just replace it and see if that fixes it,I have a Atwood heater
Remove the outside access panel and you'll see the control board mounted on the wall on the left side next to the blower. The board itself is mounted on a piece of metal and slides out.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Ty & Deb Montag
Columbus, OH
2015 Jayco Seneca 36FK
2014 Honda CR-V toad

anav8or is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.