Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2014, 08:57 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fraser Valley
Posts: 306
Hooking up Cable TV

We have never had a TV and cable in a trailer before and I'm not sure how it works when you go to the RV Park and hook up.

Does the RV have a cable line that hooks into the trailer, or should we buy one ourselves and hook it up? Just wondering if I need to add this to my list of things to stock in the trailer.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Proud Yukoner
2010 Ford F-150 Supercrew Lariat
2016 Whitehawk 27 DSRL
2014 Jayflight 24FBS Elite (Sold)
ykcamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:09 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,059
Yes, you will need to buy one. There is an input jack on the back side of the trailer to screw the cable into. I recommend getting the tool to screw it on also so that it's tight enough, or put quick connectors on each end.
__________________

__________________
Chuck
2013 Jayco Jayfeather X20 E, 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Z71 SLE
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fraser Valley
Posts: 306
Thanks!
__________________
Proud Yukoner
2010 Ford F-150 Supercrew Lariat
2016 Whitehawk 27 DSRL
2014 Jayflight 24FBS Elite (Sold)
ykcamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
lx22f/c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Friendswood
Posts: 917
We have cable at our seasonal site. The connection is on the pedestal. We have to supply the part of cable to connect to the trailer. So you should probably add that to your list. Mine is 50 ft long ( not that i need that much) but i feel that would handle any circumstance. Don't forget the ones inside to connect to the tv's.
lx22f/c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
When you use the CG cable, you will also need to turn off the amp that is used with the roof antenna. It is usually located next to the Tv on a wall plate that has the 12VDC power plug in it. Then just run the automatic channel locator on the Tv and all should be fine.

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:29 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
I have a small collection of wires ranging from 10' to about 60' for the cable connection. I keep them in a plastic container with a couple of splitters and butt connectors to give flexibility.
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 10:34 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fraser Valley
Posts: 306
Great ideas. Thanks!
__________________
Proud Yukoner
2010 Ford F-150 Supercrew Lariat
2016 Whitehawk 27 DSRL
2014 Jayflight 24FBS Elite (Sold)
ykcamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 04:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 4,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
When you use the CG cable, you will also need to turn off the amp that is used with the roof antenna. It is usually located next to the Tv on a wall plate that has the 12VDC power plug in it. Then just run the automatic channel locator on the Tv and all should be fine.

Don
+1, It took me an inordinately long time to figure this out, and I still sometimes forget about it!
__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 05:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper_bob View Post
+1, It took me an inordinately long time to figure this out, and I still sometimes forget about it!
x2
Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 12:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
You will also have to go to the menu on the TV and program it for cable.
__________________

__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.