Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2022, 01:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Casselberry
Posts: 284
How much feet of power cable?

How many feet of 30 amp power cable will I need to carry with my TT?
Will 50 be enough and can I get two 25 lengths?
Larry Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 02:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,341
My engineering skills tell me that you will need enough length of cable to reach from the RV to the power source.

Not to provide a useless answer, I have found that I rarely need any extension cord however I do carry a 25' extension and rarely have I needed to use it (fyi, my rv already has a ~25' cord). My suggestion is to consider where you plan to stay most often, and if any of those places require a long extension, most all commercial (and State\National) RV parks will not need any extension cord, but perhaps you would need one when staying with friends or family as that is where I have used mine most.

I will add that for you to have any hope of safely running your A/C from any outlet that is ~50' away, that you certainly need a heavier gauge 30a extension cord over a smaller cord (due to line loss being more with a smaller extension cord), even if the outlet is only 20a that you are plugging into.

~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 02:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,166
In the last 10 years, I have only needed a single extension cord 3 times!
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (retired from towing)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 02:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Murff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: State of Confusion
Posts: 4,676
In the 7 years I have had my White Hawk, the 25 foot 30A extension cord has never left the original packaging.

If I didn't have it, I would have needed it at least 3 times like Jagiven.

Murff
__________________
Murff

2015 White Hawk 20MRB (It's last year)
2017 F150 2.7 Eco Boost 3.73 Gears
Andersen WDH

"YEEEEE-HAAWWWWW!!!!!"
Murff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 02:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dvspl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Shrewsbury
Posts: 250
I've only used my 25' extension cord a couple of times in the last two years of lots of campsites. Glad I have it, though, because I need it to reach the outlet in my garage at home!
__________________
retired USCG aviator
2020 Jayco Greyhawk 29MV/2021 MINI Cooper toad
dvspl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 03:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Casselberry
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigav View Post
My engineering skills tell me that you will need enough length of cable to reach from the RV to the power source.

Not to provide a useless answer, I have found that I rarely need any extension cord however I do carry a 25' extension and rarely have I needed to use it (fyi, my rv already has a ~25' cord). My suggestion is to consider where you plan to stay most often, and if any of those places require a long extension, most all commercial (and State\National) RV parks will not need any extension cord, but perhaps you would need one when staying with friends or family as that is where I have used mine most.

I will add that for you to have any hope of safely running your A/C from any outlet that is ~50' away, that you certainly need a heavier gauge 30a extension cord over a smaller cord (due to line loss being more with a smaller extension cord), even if the outlet is only 20a that you are plugging into.

~CA
Thanks
So Ill probably just get one 25 length of 30 amp. Is 10 ga enough to get the full 30 amps over the 25 ft? Is there ever a need for a smaller length of 30 amp extention?
btw in a pinch if I could get my truck closer, I do have a generator. So with that could I get by with what comes with the TT and one 25 or (smaller ?) extention?
Larry Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 03:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Mac View Post
Thanks
So Ill probably just get one 25 length of 30 amp. Is 10 ga enough to get the full 30 amps over the 25 ft? Is there ever a need for a smaller length of 30 amp extention?
btw in a pinch if I could get my truck closer, I do have a generator. So with that could I get by with what comes with the TT and one 25 or (smaller ?) extention?
I haven't seen any manufactured 30a RV extension cords other than 10 awg (and that is what I have). However if I did find one that was say 8awg, and if the cost wasn't much more I would think that would be a better choice as with a longer cord you will get more line loss, and with a larger conductor (8awg) you could negate some of that loss. I wouldn't be concerned with 10 awg though as it is rated for 30a.

You really would do best to use the shortest cord you can, so if you had 25' already and only needed 5' more then a shorter extension would have value. However not enough value for my usage that would make me want to purchase a shorter extension cord. Perhaps if there was somewhere I camped at a lot and I needed 5' more of a power cord then I might consider purchasing a short extension cord, or maybe I would swap out my RV's 25' cord with a 30' cord and never use any extension.

BTW, while on the subject, if you only needed 5' more but had a 25' extension, be sure to still uncoil the entire cord and don't use it all coiled up as it could build up too much heat being in a coil, so stretch it out in any case. ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 04:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Casselberry
Posts: 284
Thanks for that tip!
Larry Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 05:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Mac View Post
Thanks
So Ill probably just get one 25 length of 30 amp. Is 10 ga enough to get the full 30 amps over the 25 ft? Is there ever a need for a smaller length of 30 amp extention?
btw in a pinch if I could get my truck closer, I do have a generator. So with that could I get by with what comes with the TT and one 25 or (smaller ?) extention?
Good decision, the proper RV 25' extension is handy.

Dont think any need for shorter extension, 25' covers shorter.

I would say same applies for generator as with shore power.

Also good to have are adapters both ways 30AMP to/from 15/20AMP as well as a standard "orange type" extension cord just in case you encounter some extreme distance; you could still have electric just being careful on the amps you are using with this connection.
dxrobertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 05:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
kirkelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: ridgecrest
Posts: 1,026
I carry a 25' 30 Amp and 40' 50 Amp and never came close to being short.
kirkelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 05:50 PM   #11
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 13,972
We frequent a NY State Park, that have shared power pedestals between adjacent sites. If we can't reserve the right ones the pedestal is on our awning side, we end up using the attached cord plus two 25' extensions. There have been times we've gotten fellow campers out of trouble when their cord didn't reach.
__________________
Moderator
If you're going to "regret it in the morning", sleep until noon.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 06:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Happy wife / happy life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,359
I have two 25’ 30 amp cords. I have never had to use the second cord ,but there is nothing wrong with having a back up just in case the first one fails or helping out someone in a pinch.
__________________
1984 gmc k1500 4x4 s/w/b. s/b 350,700r4,373 diff,.restored and upgraded. 2018 hummingbird Baja 16mrb,Yamaha ef2400ishc inverter.
Happy wife / happy life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 06:04 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 2,337
Needed one one time in a Canadian park and luckily they rented them for a couple dollars. I think I'm order of backups and extensions I use water maybe once a year and I've never needed my sewer or electric.
__________________
2017 JayFlight 21QB
2021 Ford F150 SCrew 3.5 Eco, 157, 3.55, Tow Pkg
TaftCoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 07:09 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Casselberry
Posts: 284
How much feet of sewer hose is needed

Thanks for the help on the power line. It helped me a lot make some decisions.

So how about the black tank hoses. It would seem to me you dont want to be caught short.

Is 20 ft and maybe another 5-10 extention enough? Or would we need 40 ft?
Larry Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 07:56 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
kirkelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: ridgecrest
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Mac View Post
Thanks for the help on the power line. It helped me a lot make some decisions.

So how about the black tank hoses. It would seem to me you dont want to be caught short.

Is 20 ft and maybe another 5-10 extention enough? Or would we need 40 ft?
a 20' and a 10' Rino is what i carry. Nice to have both sizes as most of theme you'll only need one or the other,.. Both will fit into your sewer house storage, I also have a Mercator with a 50' garden hose,. I've used the full length of that a few times sneaking a dump into Porta Potties, :-)
kirkelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 08:31 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Happy wife / happy life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,359
I have two 10’ sewer hoses. I have only used one the other is a back up. I carry two fresh water hoses, one 10 footer and one 25 footer. I don’t Remember ever using the 25 footer. Now I have a baby trailer ( 16 foot— about 20’ tongue to bumper) so I am able to get it very close to the services. I also use a collapsible black water hose ( silver bullet 25’) that is very easy to store in a small plastic bucket.
__________________
1984 gmc k1500 4x4 s/w/b. s/b 350,700r4,373 diff,.restored and upgraded. 2018 hummingbird Baja 16mrb,Yamaha ef2400ishc inverter.
Happy wife / happy life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 03:44 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: In a house
Posts: 937
I never had one until I stayed at a mom and pop campground. Some idiot parked their second car right next to the power pole for our site. The owners were too nice to have this car towed, so they gave us a 25' 30A cord to allow us to connect. After we broke camp, they told us to keep it for our troubles.

I use it occasionally when I connect to our 30A house outlet, as I keep the RV on the outside of the driveway, and its current cord won't reach.
__________________


2005 Jayco GreyHawk Class C
2007 Ford F150
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 05:06 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Tunce the traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bellingham,Wa.
Posts: 6,549
What you really need to carry is a 50 to 30 AMP adapter for your power panel hookup. From over use at the power panel the 30 side can be sloppy resulting in arching your power cord. The 50 AMP plug-in side gets little use giving you a good connection.
Remember to always turn the power supply off before you plug in your cord.
Attached Thumbnails
BF531331-B43A-41C1-BCBE-B501A4F58FF9.jpg  
__________________
2010 Jayco Hybrid EXP21M
2013 Toureg TDI
Tunce the traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 05:13 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Northern Florida
Posts: 41
We have never been far from the power outlet that required the full length of the cable.

We have a 20' sewer hose that is two 10' sections and have only been required to use one section. The main dump stations for parks are designed to be right next to your trailer as you empty the tanks. Dump ports located at your campsite are usually close enough as well. The only instances where longer sewer hose runs are needed (that I have noted) are for larger RV units.

Fresh water supply is a different story. The supply spigots can be located longer distances from the camp site, requiring a second hose.
Dkastner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 04:19 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 319
Usually, 25 feet is enough.
Once, I used both of the 25-foot cables I carry.
thirdktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.