Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-16-2014, 12:13 PM   #1

If you must go downtown...

Hi, I'm a newbie, I didn't buy my TT to visit the city but I was wondering how one deals with the following scenario: You are on the road, approach a big city and want or have to spend the afternoon there to maybe visit a restaurant, shop or family member. Do you find a city lot and pull through, pay for 2 spaces, take up 2 parking meters or can you find somewhere like a KOA in the burbs and unhitch (hourly storage rate?) then drive downtown. Do you trust your TT to be unmolested at either?
Any strategies would be appreciated.
Thanks

redcedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 12:42 PM   #2

We live in the big city. if we must stop at a mall or a restaurant, I plan to walk a little bit. I park in the back 40, pretty much in the over flow parking areas. I have never parked at a parking meter. If I did, I guess I would be required to pay for all slots used, but that is just a guess. Most big cities have surface lots that you can park in, that will accommodate busses and the like, I bet they will just charge you a bit more than if you were a small car. If you are planning to visit some place in particular, you could call ahead and ask for recommendations.

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 12:44 PM   #3

Another suggestion is to see if they have a tourism center or visitor welcome center. You might be able to park there for the day.
spoon059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 12:44 PM   #4

Never do the parking meter or the pay parking lots... I park in a shopping mall, take 2 space far from the crowd, or close to a main road...or again I find a spot somewhere I can park on the side of the street with no parking meters!
Salsa03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 12:48 PM   #5

Check the local Wal-Marts, Sam's Clubs etc. I have done the shopping mall myself.
krsmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 12:52 PM   #6