Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-30-2021, 12:56 PM   #1

Jayco Solar Power Package

Hello - I am a newbie x17z owner (2021 model) and was thinking about going back to the dealer to have them add the solar power package (one of the options when you buy it). I understand that Jayco pre-wires the units for Go Power for solar.

I did post this in the hybrid section but then I thought that perhaps this maybe a general discussion about Jayco's soloar power package.

Did anyone get Jayco's solar power package?

Generally, does it include an inverter (or is that even needed)? I don't know what their package includes, other than 190w panel and 30 am controller (for the x17z). Will the dealer say that something "extra" is needed to make it work (like an inverter)? My needs would just be power for an occasional extended weekend (2-4 days) - just lights, fans (no A/C, microwave).

Thoughts about Jayco's solar power package?

Are they always roof mounted? Or something else? My x17z has a solar plug in by the hitch, though I would think that Jayco's solar power package would go on the roof - is that typical?

I assume the 190w package would be sufficient for 2-4 days of boondocking?

Thanks!!!
CO Mtns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 08:29 PM   #2

Solar was the best modification I have added to my rig. I installed myself.

All the solar does is charge your batteries.
An inverter runs off the batteries. You can add an inverter later if you need it to power some 110v AC items like a tv.

190 watts is a good start. I have 300 and wish I had 400.

Will it power you for 3-4 days? Lots of answers for that but more info is needed. Renogy.com has a lot of info and videos and spreadsheets to help you calculate the answer.