Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-07-2015, 10:06 PM   #1

Loud water pump solution???

Travel Trailer 32 ft. Newbie. So loud water pumps kicks on every time you open any water source. Being a master repair plumber for 35 years, I cant help but feel adding a small, bladder / resorvoire tank will solve that problem AND give added volume at the few rare times more than one faucet is needed.

Fact, I'm not sure why not used all the time on this type setup? A tank will allow running of water WITHOUT the pump kicking on and off in sync with usage. Plus its nice having a reserve incase water pump or water source goes out.

Seeing as how it's under the sink, only a 1 gallon would fit, but if I remove the shelf, a 5 gallon would fit and that would be just dandy and wonderful. Pump would seldom kick on.

So why am I here if I am a know it all NEWBIE Well....not sure these little baby pumps can build ANY pressure at all? Hoping someone here would know They would need around 30 psi.
Cheaperrooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 11:03 PM   #2

Newbie!!!
http://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1492

I would like to do this mod too because ours is super noisy too.

66 nights in 2016
61 nights in 2015
Derek700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 06:11 AM   #3
Site Team

My silencing mod, before and after:

This is a pic of my waterpump before I did the silencing mod. It is mounted directly to the wall that separates the kitchen from the front bedroom and is located under the sink. It vibrated through the wall, short cycled and was VERY LOUD. Even sitting at my friends campsite 50 feet away it sounded like a mini jack hammer or saw when DW rinsed dishes, etc.