Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2015, 01:20 PM   #1
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
My p3 brake controller did me dirty

OK guys, maybe I`m doing something wrong with my P3 brake controller or maybe it is shot. The last 2 trips I noticed my brakes were not up to par on the TT, luckily they were close trips. If I hit the manual slider they would grab a bit, but not enough and braking in general was not that great. I jacked up each wheel and with the truck plugged in and the brake pedal depressed was able to turn all four wheels with my hands.

Visions of grease soaked or defective brakes as I have read about here ran through my Crabby mind. I then pulled the pin on the emergency brake and all 4 were holding, could not turn with my hands. Then my thoughts turned to the P3. I unplugged it and rounded up my old Hopkins controller I had years ago but kept as a spare, plugged that in and Voila I once again had brakes at least here in the yard, have not been out for a spin yet. I had the P3 set way on high and tried all boost levels on the last trip with no improvement. But there are NO error codes, which I assumed the P3 would show if there was an issue but that`s why I`m asking the experts here about this. Is my controller kaput? Should there be an error code? Are my settings wrong or is there a way reset/reboot the P3? Could something else be the issue? I have no problem buying a new one and truthfully hope that is the issue and not the trailer brakes. I can plug a new one in and install in a matter of minutes. I might also add the P3 is approaching 6 years old.
__________________

__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 01:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
If you apply the manual lever all the way over when connected to your trailer, what is the voltage reading on the P3?
__________________

__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 02:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,837
If swapping the P3 brake controller for the Hopkins fixed the problem then you have a faulty or maladjusted P3.


Compare the output of the two units and you will have conclusive proof.
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 02:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Or it's possible that there was a bad connection where the P3 plugged into the truck wiring. Have you tried the P3 again after the Hopkins? Often with electrical devices, just unplugging and plugging back in will fix a problem.
__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 02:33 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVhiker View Post
If you apply the manual lever all the way over when connected to your trailer, what is the voltage reading on the P3?
8-8.5 when applying the manual lever. When I go to the "help" menu then "troubleshoot" it says 13.5 or so volts.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 02:35 PM   #6
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokerBill View Post
Or it's possible that there was a bad connection where the P3 plugged into the truck wiring. Have you tried the P3 again after the Hopkins? Often with electrical devices, just unplugging and plugging back in will fix a problem.
I just tried it again and I can still spin the wheel with the P3 plugged in and the brake pedal depressed. It has the vehicle specific harness that plugs into the power center under the dash, as does the Hopkins.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 02:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,057
Lifetime warranty. Call them and tell them what's happening. Most likely they will send you a new one or have you swap if for a new one at your local dealer.
__________________
Chuck
2013 Jayco Jayfeather X20 E, 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Z71 SLE
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 02:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Crabman, maybe one of these will help.

Can a P3 be reset?
Can the Tekonsha P3 Trailer Brake Controller be Reset | etrailer.com

P3 Limited Lifetime Warranty
http://www.tekonsha.com/support/warr...e_Warranty.pdf

P3 Installation Manual
http://www.tekonsha.com/content/down...ion/N90195.pdf
__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 02:58 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokerBill View Post
Thanks for those links I had lost the manual...
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 03:05 PM   #10
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Expanding on RVHikers question, when I go to the troubleshoot menu and "output voltage" it goes to 8.8 when using the manual lever but stays on 0.0 when depressing the brake pedal.
__________________

__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.