Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-09-2022, 09:54 AM   #1

NC Personal Property Tax

I am a Florida resident, and I purchased a Jayco 5th wheel which I of course titled and registered in Florida. I have been keeping the fiver in a park in North Carolina; sometimes we just go stay there a few days, sometimes I will hook up and take a trip to another part of the country. It has worked out great not towing from Florida, because nearly everywhere we go is farther north. I recently got a letter from the county the RV park is located in that they are charging me a personal property tax for the fiver. This doesn't seem right; I don't work in NC, I am a Florida resident, and the RV is registered in Florida and has a Florida tag. Has anybody run into this issue? And if so how did you resolve it?
MartandMillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 10:00 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartandMillie View Post
I am a Florida resident, and I purchased a Jayco 5th wheel which I of course titled and registered in Florida. I have been keeping the fiver in a park in North Carolina; sometimes we just go stay there a few days, sometimes I will hook up and take a trip to another part of the country. It has worked out great not towing from Florida, because nearly everywhere we go is farther north. I recently got a letter from the county the RV park is located in that they are charging me a personal property tax for the fiver. This doesn't seem right; I don't work in NC, I am a Florida resident, and the RV is registered in Florida and has a Florida tag. Has anybody run into this issue? And if so how did you resolve it?
If you have a valid registration and you are renting the lot all you should need to do is send them a copy of your DL, FW registration and rent receipt.

If you own the lot in NC then that would be an issue.
Old 08-09-2022, 10:04 AM   #3