Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-23-2016, 08:29 AM   #1

New trailer on the way....need some accessory recommendations.

Couple things I would like to get.

Back up camera. My truck has the camera to make hitching up easy but I would like to put a camera on the back of the trailer to aid in backing it in and to see traffic behind me.

Also would like another camera on the front of the trailer watching the connection to the truck. Wireless would be preferred. What are you guys using?

Also, what brake controller do you guys prefer? I have a 2008 Escalade EXT, it has the factory tow package and wiring in place for the controller.

Keep in mind I am not new to towing, I have a big boat and have been towing large boats my entire driving life. I'm just new to towing a travel trailer and I'm a little OCD and like to know everything going on at all times.
ScarabChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:58 AM   #2

Not sure on the camera. Can't say I have heard of others wanting a second faker for hitching besides the truck cam, but an interesting though. I did just buy a Peak 4.3" wireless digital cam set up. Not installed yet so no idea how it will do yet. It does have a 2 camera capability, but not sure where or if you can just buy the camera without the monitor.

The Prodigy P2 and P3 are highly regarded for brake controller choices. I was going to buy a P2, but we got a "free truck" when we went with the factory brake controller when we bought our HD.

'16 Jay Flight 32 BHDS ELITE 32 BHDS MODS Reese DC HP

WDH SET UP. HOW A WDH WORKS. CAT SCALE HOW TO.
need-a-vacation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 09:05 AM   #3

Thanks...

The 2nd hitch cam would not be for hitching, it would be so I can monitor the connection while driving. Make sure nothing is dragging, etc.
Old 05-23-2016, 09:15 AM   #4

Quote: