Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-25-2018, 02:51 PM   #1

Power awning

I'm new to this new power awning and was wondering how every one is tying down in case of wind.
Stelewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 02:55 PM   #2

In case of wind, we retract our power awning. I would rather have the old manual style if I had a choice after owning this one for 3 years.
Lolead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 03:25 PM   #3

I read, on another forum, that "If you even think it's too windy... then it is!"

There are, in fact, some awnings that will sense wind gusts, and retract themselves, but I'm not sure I'd want to rely on that.

Jay Feather 19XUD, pushing a Jeep Grand Cherokee
WeRJuliian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 04:38 PM   #4

We pull ours in if it starts getting too windy. Our rig supposedly has the “auto retract” feature WeRJuliian referenced, but I don’t want to find out the hard way that it doesn’t work.

Parked next to a brand new North Point last year that had the awning in pieces on the ground because they didn’t pull it in soon enough when he wind picked up.
robkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 05:01 PM   #5

When wind kicks up, take it in as the others have mentioned.

I installed the Carefree "Direct Response" electronics on my Seneca, but I found out the hard way it doesn't help when a sudden microburst is the first wind that hits. No time for the electronics to react and retract the awning before it tore up my front arm!
Attached Thumbnails
Travel'r awning fail.jpg  
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 06:16 PM   #6

Electric Awing