Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2014, 10:15 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Taylor
Posts: 23
reception on TV

we have a 2005 jayco jay feather travel trailer. We are in a valley, but within 10 miles of a major hub, we have an analog antenna, a converter box, and a digital TV. When turned on all we get is a blank screen with the words "weak signal" floating on the screen. We will try a booster on the TV. Will this do the trick or should we try something else? Also is there a way to boost the signal on the radio? Thanks, Jim&Barb
__________________

comfortzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 12:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pawnee, IL
Posts: 289
Are you using the menu on the digital TV and scanning for channels? If you have a digital TV, I don't think you need to have a converter box. The outlet where you plug your TV into the camper wall is also a booster. There should be a little buttton on the outlet plate that, when pushed in, turns on a green light, which indicates that the booster is on. Be sure that the booster is on before you scan for channels.
__________________

__________________

2016 Eagle 323 LKTS
2009 GMC 1-ton Dually Diesel
djalbrec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 12:53 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Taylor
Posts: 23
I will be going back out to the property where the trailer is at this weekend and I will try what you mentioned, is it possible just not to be getting any channels? Yes I did scan the channels, and tried turning the antennia a few times. I will try without the converter box also. Thanks for the info, will let you know next week. Jim
comfortzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 02:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 4,190
Try using Antennaweb.org to find a bearing for signal. You can put in your zip code and it will tell you what towers are available and which direction to point your antenna. You should not need any additional equipment to make your TV work assuming it has a digital tuner. Some older TVs may not have a digital tuner in which case you'll need a separate tuner, but the antenna with its own built in booster should be enough.
__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 02:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
qwed94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: St L, Mo
Posts: 105
If you are using a digital converter box, (which djalbrec is right, you dont need to, if you have a new style flat screen thin TV), you might need to get to the menu of the box (not the TVs menu), and do a channel scan from there.
__________________
I started with nothing, and still have most of it left
2001 Jayco KIWI 23B
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.7 AWD
TIM
qwed94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 04:12 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Taylor
Posts: 23
I found the booster in the trailer, pushed it and the green light came on, went to the web site that you put your zip code in, that was suggested, I got the antenna turned and getting 14 channels with a great picture. Thank you very much for all the info. JIM
comfortzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 07:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Nighthawk 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 571
There is a free app for smartphones called TV Antenna Helper. Helps to locate direction of TV signals.
__________________
2012 Toyota Tundra 5.7 Litre DoubleCab
6 speed, 4.30 Limited Slip, Tow Package
2013 Jayco White Hawk 27DSRL
2010 Jayco JayFlight 26BH sold
Yamaha EF2000is Generators (2)
1996 Honda CB750 Nighthawk
Nighthawk 96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 07:09 PM   #8
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: N/A
Posts: 567
My Sansui HD tv in the bedroom has a built in DTV signal strength meter right above where one selects to auto program the channels. I crank up the ant. and then turn it for maximum signal strength and then program the channels. Works great, except sometimes there are channels which won't come in until I turn the ant. another direction. So sometimes it is a compromise over max. signal strength vs. getting the most stations.
wwsmith111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 07:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
I see Winguard has a new HD antenna that mounts to the existing crank for $50.00. Rayzar air. I wish I saw that before I spent the $20.00 on the booster for the batwing.
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 08:05 PM   #10
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: N/A
Posts: 567
I just bought a King Jack ant. which is a direct replacement. I read on several threads where other people are really impressed by the performance of this ant. I am going to change mine out tomorrow. http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Q&gclsrc=aw.ds
__________________

wwsmith111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.