Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-27-2016, 05:39 AM   #1

Refrigerator cooling cure

My background is engineering and this may help both technicians and installers of refrigerators in slide outs that have poor cooling ventilation. I was asked by a tech to find a better way especially for the double door refrigerators!. This may be known to some but not by all of the most important guys. No refrigerator can cool properly unless the airflow is a great enough to remove the heated air trapped in The chamber in the rear. Most everyone knows this.
We purchased a new 2016 fifth wheel with the refrigerator in a slide out . This means that both the cold air inlet and outlet are on the same wall of course. With that being said the airflow is not as good as roof chimney styles because it is a very low and short chamber which naturally restricts airflow . (The taller the chimney the more natural draft ) Our refrigerator as most installed in slideouts had an electric fan on the rear in the center in order to assist draft . The fan was operating properly turning on and off depending on the temperature of the chamber . When the outdoor ambient temperature was above 60°F the fan would never shut off meaning the refrigerator was burning propane or on electric and running constantly . Our refrigerator on a hot day would not cool below 60°F with an outside temperature of 85°F in the shade . The freezer would hover around 35°F .
I have seen many suggested cures online by adding up to four or five fans in the bank all across the rear ventilation area thus forcing the hot air to rise and exit the chamber when the fans are on . This is the same as installing a baffle utilizing one or maximum of two fans. ( the width of four to six fans creates the same effect as stopping the circular air motion with the baffle and using one fan..