Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2020, 05:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
SeventyGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Fallon, Nv
Posts: 306
Running two AC's on 30amp plug

We recently had a 2nd AC installed and have a 30 amp plug at home I had installed for our Class C several years ago. Just for grins I fired up both AC's using the 50 amp cord with an adapter and ran it for about 5 or 6 hours with no issues at all. Just curious if it would be possible to run both ACs if a campsite did not have 50 amp service?
__________________

__________________
2017 Jayco Eagle 28.5RSTS
2016 Ram 2500 SB Longhorn 6.7 4x4
5th Wheel Prep/Auto Level
Andersen Ultimate w/Andersen Bed Shaft
SeventyGTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 05:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 1,204
Yes, most RV air conditioners run about 11 to 13 amps at 120v. 2 AC’s on a 30amp circuit is fine as long as you don’t use a kitchen appliance or a hair dryer.
__________________

Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 05:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Studiovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 436
I'm assuming your class C is 30amps max so the breaker at the cg being a 50 or 30 is irrelevant.
My greyhawk has the 2 ACs and power management system. If both ACs are on I'm fine even with the fridge running on electric. If the dw goes to dry her hair i have to either turn on off or lower both fans to low to avoid the breaker tripping.
__________________
----------------------------------
2017 Jay flight 26BH Elite ( miss it already but Donít miss the towing)
2018 Greyhawk 31FS
Studiovette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SeventyGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Fallon, Nv
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Studiovette View Post
I'm assuming your class C is 30amps max so the breaker at the cg being a 50 or 30 is irrelevant.
My greyhawk has the 2 ACs and power management system. If both ACs are on I'm fine even with the fridge running on electric. If the dw goes to dry her hair i have to either turn on off or lower both fans to low to avoid the breaker tripping.
Yes the Class C was a 30amps, but I am referring to our current Jayco FW I added a 2nd AC to which has 50 amp service.
__________________
2017 Jayco Eagle 28.5RSTS
2016 Ram 2500 SB Longhorn 6.7 4x4
5th Wheel Prep/Auto Level
Andersen Ultimate w/Andersen Bed Shaft
SeventyGTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeventyGTX View Post
Yes the Class C was a 30amps, but I am referring to our current Jayco FW I added a 2nd AC to which has 50 amp service.
Yes 30 amp will work. Put anything you can on GAS.Turn off one A/C while you use the Microwave.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 11:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,057
As long as both compressors kick in at the same time you should be ok but there is not a lot of juice left for anything else.
__________________

2018 Jayco 28RLS
2012 F-250 6.2L 3.73
Equalizer Hitch
Yamaha 2400ISHC
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 01:40 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2edgesword View Post
As long as both compressors kick in at the same time you should be ok but there is not a lot of juice left for anything else.
I'm guessing you meant DON'T kick in at the same time. Chances of that happening are slim to none.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 02:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Topperace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Temple Hills
Posts: 73
If you do have problems in the future, might want to consider adding the SoftStart... https://www.softstartusa.com/
and made in the USA at that!
__________________
S&T
2019 NP 383FKWS
2019 RAM 3500 DW
Topperace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 02:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SeventyGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Fallon, Nv
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavie View Post
I'm guessing you meant DON'T kick in at the same time. Chances of that happening are slim to none.
I'm thinking the same thing. Both compressors kicking on that the exact same time are slim to none.
__________________

__________________
2017 Jayco Eagle 28.5RSTS
2016 Ram 2500 SB Longhorn 6.7 4x4
5th Wheel Prep/Auto Level
Andersen Ultimate w/Andersen Bed Shaft
SeventyGTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×