Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2015, 10:42 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccso2213 View Post
Just FYI, Oak Mountain has water/electric at most sites. We'll be there in a few weeks for spring break. Hope you have fun!

Yes, we look for power, water, sewer AND WiFi. We are modern (read lazy) campers.
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 10:47 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
I would sanitize a new tank to ensure its clean.
__________________

__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 10:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccso2213 View Post
Thanks! It's going to be our first trip in our first Jayco. Related question.... Is this really nessecary on a new trailer?
Congratulations on your first Jayco and welcome to the forum.

Is sanitizing the fresh water system 'necessary'? I haven't heard that it is required - and I think Jayco literature recommends it - but it certainly isn't a bad idea for a new trailer. If you bought a used trailer, it is certainly a good idea.

I would say that the majority of the folks on this site sanitize their fresh water system at least once a year when they 'de-winterize' the unit.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:08 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
I sanitize mine every year as it comes out of winterization
__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:29 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Skaling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Langley (Vancouver)
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmooney View Post
I sanitize mine every year as it comes out of winterization
X2
__________________
TT: 2015 Jayco Jayflight 26BH Elite
TV: 2014 Ram 1500 Sport, 5.7 HEMI 3.21, Firestone 1000# air suspension. WD hitch w/800# bars
SOLD: 2012 Jayco J-series 1007
Skaling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 06:36 AM   #16
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmooney View Post
I sanitize mine every year as it comes out of winterization
X3
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:41 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
If mine spent the winter with antifreeze I too would sanitize it after returning to service, but I don't do that.

My winterization procedure is simple open all drains and tanks as well as open all water spigots. These are left completely open all winter.
__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:43 AM   #18
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,046
I never sanitize my HW tank because it is bypassed if I winterize and is drained and open.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 08:10 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Vail
Posts: 55
My thought on a brand new rig is that there could be construction dirt/debris in the water system. Therefore, I think it is a good idea to sanitize the whole system, including the FW and HW tanks.

IMHO, the most difficult part of the process is the FW tank (mine is about 80 gallons). I can see skipping that if you always plan to camp with water hookups. That said, you never know when circumstances might call for having a water tank ready to use.
slinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 11:20 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
troutslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW AR (God's Country)
Posts: 1,848
I'm no "tree-hugger" but wish there was a way to sanitize without using so much water.
__________________

__________________
Skip

2012 Eagle Super Lite HT 26.5RKS
2005 GMC 2500 SLT HD D/A
troutslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.