Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2012, 11:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
semi-de-winterize for a storm?

A couple of weeks ago I winterized my 5th. I use compressed air to blow out all the lines. I live in a rural suburban area where I have well water. I totally expect to lose power, and therefore water. So.....

What if I fill up my fresh water tank (about 90 gallons) and NOT turn on the water pump unless needed? I would think that to winterize again, I just drop the water assuming that I never turn on the water pump, and not have to worry about the lines. Of course if I need water, I will have to re-winterize again.

Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,011
Makes sense to me.
Keep your head down, looks like a nasty storm building.
__________________

__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:10 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,657
Sounds like a plan to me, I fill mine up not only for water but ballast during a storm.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
Hopefully I will be able to pick up a generator, then won't have to worry. But if I don't get one by Sunday, at least I know I have 90 gallons of "bottled" water available!
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:34 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,657
Yeah the genny hooked up to the house well pump is a nice thing to have in an extended outage.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 03:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,236
Yes all you would have to do is drain the freshwater tank. Good luck.
__________________
No I am NOT retired. I work full time.:D

Tracy from Central PA

2010 Jayco 17Z Ex-Port
2004 Ford Explorer V8 with the tow package
2010 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 132 - Nights Camping in My Z 102
2011 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 107
2012 Camping Stats
Nights camping 133 - Nights camping in my Z 128
2013 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 66 Nights
tlhdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:16 PM   #7
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,068
If you have a genny, just run the pump with it and leave the water in the ground. Using the fresh water tank will be a plan but I hear it is going to be cold along with this storm so be aware of that.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
I was able to place an order for a Briggs & Stratton Elite Series™ 7000 Watt Portable Generator which should be arriving tomorrow. I don't have a transfer switch yet, so depending on how long the potential outage is, I'll have to make do with individual circuits. I didn't want to use the camper, but having a 90 gallon reserve of water sitting in the driveway is pretty alluring and sure beats getting buckets of pool water to flush the toilet!
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:41 PM   #9
Member
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by nylyon View Post
I was able to place an order for a Briggs & Stratton Elite Series™ 7000 Watt Portable Generator which should be arriving tomorrow. I don't have a transfer switch yet, so depending on how long the potential outage is, I'll have to make do with individual circuits. I didn't want to use the camper, but having a 90 gallon reserve of water sitting in the driveway is pretty alluring and sure beats getting buckets of pool water to flush the toilet!
If you are handy, you can make due without a transfer. For temp use, find a 220 breaker you wont be using. Wire your generator in there and shut off your main. Turn on just the circuits needed. My cousin, a long time electrician, did that to our house for the last years storm.
__________________
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty CRD Tuned By Green Diesel
Trailer - On Hold
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:36 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
[QUOTE=ChooChooMan74;102070]If you are handy, you can make due without a transfer. For temp use, find a 220 breaker you wont be using. Wire your generator in there and shut off your main. Turn on just the circuits needed. QUOTE]

That is called back feeding. Tried to find a picture on-line but no luck. Basically pull the breaker, remove the existing wires. Then install heavy gauge wire between the breaker and the generator. Then when you need the generator turn OFF the main and turn on the Generator breaker. NEVER have both circuits ON at the same time as you could damage your generator.

The only thing I really care to ensure I have power at is the furnace (boiler in my case). A number of years ago I opened the electrical junction box and rewired it. I installed an outlet on the junction box. Then took an old heavy duty extension cord, cut the female end off. I have the pig tail end of the cord in the box, connected to the furnace wires and the male end plugs into the outlet. This way when we lose power I simply unplug the furnace and plug it into my inverter on my deep cycle battery. Works for me. Technically around here that is not up to code, If I ever sell the house I will just change it back.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.