Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2012, 09:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Grunge Grown Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: smallville
Posts: 70
Question So I blew a circuit breaker (literally)

While camping over Thanksgiving, I tripped a 15 amp breaker in my fuse box. I determined it was because I had both my electric tea kettle and my toaster plugged into the same outlet. No biggie, I unplugged one of things, flipped the breaker back on, and went about my day.

Well the next day, I tripped it again. This time I had my kettle plugged in by the sink and the electric heater plugged in under the dinette. Different outlets and it still tripped the breaker. But this time I can't turn the breaker back on so I have to replace it.

I have 2 questions for you guys:

1. Is this like a household breaker, where you just pull out old one, and slide in the new one?
2. Where do I find a new 15 amp breaker? Is there a specific type for the HTT?

Thanks a million!
__________________

__________________
Vicky & Matt
2012 Jayco X17A
2004 Nissan Titan
Grunge Grown Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:02 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
LOWES will carry all the major brands. Take it out and carry it with you to LOWES.
__________________

__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: White Salmon, Wa.
Posts: 550
Just because you had items pluged into different outlets doesn't mean that they still are not on the same circuit I would check and see how many circuits you have and how many outlets are on each circuit.
__________________
Randy
Washington, State.
2011 Jayco G2 25RKS
2004 Dodge 2500 CTD
Old Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: north central Iowa
Posts: 304
In general you probably can operate only one appliance that heats at a time. This includes toasters, coffee makers, hair dryers, blow combs, electric fry pans, space heaters, etc.. I have been know to run an extension cord from the 20 amp outlet on the pedestal in order to use a the fry pan outside while the toaster is used inside. Be sure to use an outdoor extension cord with sufficient wire size to carry the load.
__________________
2014 Eagle Premier 361REQS
2013 Ford F350 Crew w/ 6.7 diesel
sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
All of the 110V outlets are going to be on a single breaker.
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:15 AM   #6
Member
 
Grunge Grown Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: smallville
Posts: 70
Thanks for your help! After I blew the fuse with things plugged into separate outlets, I figured they were all on one circuit. It looks like my Lowe's run is getting bigger and bigger.

Here's another one - Can I upgrade to a 20amp breaker?
__________________
Vicky & Matt
2012 Jayco X17A
2004 Nissan Titan
Grunge Grown Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:18 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
I don't think so.
You wiring is going to be 14 guage, only rated for 15 amps.
Also, your outlets are only rated for 15 amps.
You can see in the picture how a 20amp recepticle is a little different.
Doug

Click image for larger version

Name:	20 amp outlet.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	5751
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:08 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grunge Grown Up View Post
Thanks for your help! After I blew the fuse with things plugged into separate outlets, I figured they were all on one circuit. It looks like my Lowe's run is getting bigger and bigger.

Here's another one - Can I upgrade to a 20amp breaker?
Do not upgrade to 20A from 15A. As stated above the wiring and outlets are rated for 15A and by simply upgrading the CB you are going to impose a hazard between the CB and outlet which could lead to a fire. Your better option is to consider adding a circut that is 20A rated from CB to outlet or another 15A outlet for your second cooking appliance. The minimum for 20A service is 12 guage wire.

One more option is to run an extension cord from the 15A pedestal outlet at most full service CG's to the other appliance. Depending on how your unit is wired you might be able to permanently snake one through the shorepower inlet so you have it ready to go all the time. Then you will need to snake it into the unit and locate it where you would use it. Use a 14 guage extension cord throughout this run and only one appliance at a time.
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Landry View Post
All of the 110V outlets are going to be on a single breaker.
Not in my trailer. I have 3 120 volt circuits. One that the microwave has a dedicated plug. One that is a GFCI circuit. It supplies power to the bathroom and the kitchen. The third is a regular circuit.
__________________
No I am NOT retired. I work full time.:D

Tracy from Central PA

2010 Jayco 17Z Ex-Port
2004 Ford Explorer V8 with the tow package
2010 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 132 - Nights Camping in My Z 102
2011 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 107
2012 Camping Stats
Nights camping 133 - Nights camping in my Z 128
2013 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 66 Nights
tlhdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:48 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
tinlizzie23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Luray, VA (central Shenandoah Valley of VA)
Posts: 1,416
X2 - There are three circuits in my 5er, same as tlhdoc's.
__________________

__________________
2003 Ford F-350 V-10 Crew Cab 4WD Long Bed
2004 Jayco Designer Medallion 29 RLTS 5th wheel
Bill, Gayle, and Mindi (dachshund)
Retired at last !

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
tinlizzie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.