Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-05-2021, 08:11 PM   #1

Stowing Things

Newbie here, just took delivery on our new SLX7 195RB. We are starting to accumulate all of the 'stuff' needed and I was wondering how folks store their sewer hose so as to keep any residual odors out of the rest of the trailer. Is there any particular type of bin folks use? I want to get a Rhino hose kit and the dealer said it will not fit inside the rear bumper. Thanks
RallyAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 08:17 PM   #2

If it were me I would look into a different brand of hose that would fit. Even in a closed tub I wouldn't want that stinky thing inside my trailer. You could also make a hose holder out of a PVC pipe and mount it below the bumper.
Old 04-05-2021, 08:21 PM   #3

I made the rhino hose fit in my bumper. It was a tight fit, and the tabs had to be in the corners.
If it doesn’t, you can do a couple things.
1. Never let chunks food into your gray tanks. Scrape dishes in the trash before washing. This will mean the gray contains mostly water, soap, and a little dirt/oil from your body.
2. Always dump black, then flush black, then dump gray. If what is going down the hose last is mostly soapy water, there won’t be much to left to make it have a bad odor.
3. Keep the hose in a Rubbermaid bin.
2x Honda 2K
NewBlackDak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:18 AM   #4

I bought a Valterra EZ Hose Adjustable Hose Carrier that mounts under the trailer. After I priced out the PVC post option many people have used, I found this to be cheaper and easier than building my own.

2022 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LTZ Crew Cab 3.0L Duramax 4WD
2019 Jayco Jay Flight SLX 298BH
2013 Jayco Jay 1206 (Sold)
Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:36 AM   #5