Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2014, 10:25 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 39
I did read this post though :
0
votes

A 30 amp cord should not carry more than 24 amps if the load on the cord is continuous and of 3 hours or more duration (80% of 30 amps). The adapter has no internal fuse so the adapter and the 30 amp trailer power cord are overfused at 50 amps, especially if the trailer does not have a 30 amp main breaker or fuse. The trailer load should never exceed 30 amps and the trailer electrical panel must have a 30 amp main. Also, the amperage of the cord must be reduced depending on the ambient temperature of the environment of the cord (summer in Las Vegas or Arizona, for example).
__________________

cobblestone1820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 11:27 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brownie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greater Grand Rapids
Posts: 1,119
Hu?!
__________________

__________________
2013 Eagle 266RKS
2011 Ford F-150 w/3.5L Ecoboost & H.D. Tow Package
Brownie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 01:55 PM   #13
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,064
Be aware that many CG's charge extra if you are plugged into the 50a plug. Many don't care but keep it in mind when plugging adapters in.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 02:17 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobblestone1820 View Post
I did read this post though :
0
votes

A 30 amp cord should not carry more than 24 amps if the load on the cord is continuous and of 3 hours or more duration (80% of 30 amps).
I haven't heard this and in my experience I can run as long as needed my trailer's AC and all other loads (except the microwave as previously noted) and not have a hot trailer umbilical - assuming the outlet I'm plugged into is in good condition.


Quote:
Originally Posted by cobblestone1820 View Post
The adapter has no internal fuse so the adapter and the 30 amp trailer power cord are overfused at 50 amps, especially if the trailer does not have a 30 amp main breaker or fuse. The trailer load should never exceed 30 amps and the trailer electrical panel must have a 30 amp main.
Well, when I use a 20 amp outlet in my house, 200 amps service is being supplied to that 20 amp outlet. The 20 amp breaker protects the circuit, as does the 30 amp main breaker in my trailer. If there were a short in the trailer umbilical, my uneducated non-electrician opinion is that the 50 amp breaker would open. So there is no safety problem evident to me. Not having to deal with the 30 amp breaker in the campground box can actually be a big help, as the 30 amp breakers are often abused by having to "blow" often and are weak and blow prematurely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cobblestone1820 View Post
Also, the amperage of the cord must be reduced depending on the ambient temperature of the environment of the cord (summer in Las Vegas or Arizona, for example).
I myself have not found this to be a problem; if it were a problem, it would be a problem if plugged into a 30 amp circuit or into a 30 amp adapter plugged into a 50 amp outlet.

As my signature line indicates, there are lots of opinions on the internet.
__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 04:34 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobblestone1820 View Post
The adapter has no internal fuse so the adapter and the 30 amp trailer power cord are overfused at 50 amps, especially if the trailer does not have a 30 amp main breaker or fuse.
Unless altered after manufacture all 30 amp RV's have a 30 amp main breaker. The 50 amp breaker will trip if the power cable or the adapter (dogbone) has a fault. Which is extremely unlikely assuming they are visually in good condition. The pedestal breaker (50 amp or 30 amp) is not for your protection. It is only for the protection of the campground equipment.

While theoretically your comment has some merit in the real world it would be classified as an unjustified concern.
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 08:14 PM   #16
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnchuck100 View Post
While theoretically your comment has some merit in the real world it would be classified as an unjustified concern.
I agree with your statement that this is nice to know but not something to worry about.
My personal experience is that most pedestal 30a breakers will trip way before you draw full 30a due to breaker wear tear from excessive use from campers. When I had a 30a rig and I lost power, it was usually the pedestal breaker that tripped. If I used a dogbone on a 50a feed, the camper breaker would trip as it should.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 09:58 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Farmdale, Oh
Posts: 62
Autumn Ridge

Hope you enjoy your Autumn Ridge. My son and his family bought theirs new in 2012 and they just love it. I'd be jealous but for 2 of us our Jayfeather is big enough. (The grandkids bring their parents with their own campers so they don't need to sleep with us.)
grandmawoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 11:25 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Covina
Posts: 76
Just my 2 cents as an electrical contractor....as others have said, if your panel in the TT has a main like most do, that is your protection in the event of an over load. there would be no problem using a ul listed adapter going fro 50amp-30amp. But then again what do I know
Socalken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 10:08 PM   #19
Member
 
mjcromp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bend
Posts: 42
To reference an earlier post not all 50a TT's are dual AC
Jayco seems to have realized that there is a need to separate out power better. I have a 2014 33BHTS with single AC and a 50a service.
__________________

mjcromp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.