Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-07-2020, 09:02 AM   #1

Tire Pressure With TPMS

Hi All,

I'm new to RVing and have a Class C in which I've installed a Tire Pressure Monitoring System. My front tires call for 75 lbs of air and the back tires call for 80 lbs. I noticed that when traveling the TPMS reads about 10 lbs more on each tire. Is this normal? Should I adjust the pressure down so they only increase to the recommended pressures of 75/80 when traveling? Thanks!
Joey55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 09:05 AM   #2

If you set proper pressure when tires are cold they are going to heat up when driven and PSI will increase, this is normal so no need to adjust anything.
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 09:09 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey55 View Post
Hi All, I'm new to RVing and have a Class C in which I've installed a Tire Pressure Monitoring System. My front tires call for 75 lbs of air and the back tires call for 80 lbs. I noticed that when traveling the TPMS reads about 10 lbs more on each tire. Is this normal? Should I adjust the pressure down so they only increase to the recommended pressures of 75/80 when traveling? Thanks!
DO NOT adjust the pressure down from the recommended ones! It's normal for the tire pressure to increase while traveling..........friction, heat, sun direction, etc. Where do you have your TPMS set at for maximum pressure? The manufacturer should have given max & minimum guidelines when setting it up.
2017 RAM 3500 DRW DIESEL/AISIN 4.10 AIR BAGS
B&W COMPANION TURN OVER BALL HITCH
Formerly from Sequim, WA
AKRUEBBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 10:12 AM   #4