Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-06-2012, 10:53 PM   #21

I have been camping for 50+ years- We always have the reefer on propane- The only time we had to turn the reefer off was to go through a long tunnel somewhere on the East coast- We have never had any problems- DD
Old 04-07-2012, 07:30 AM   #22

How many of us have seen a RV go up in flames by the side of the road, I figure most have had the tank valve open and the refer running. I turn the propane off when running down the road and the refer box stays cool and the freeze stays frozen for more than 8 hours.
The Hawk
The Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 08:46 AM   #23

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hawk View Post
How many of us have seen a RV go up in flames by the side of the road, I figure most have had the tank valve open and the refer running. I turn the propane off when running down the road and the refer box stays cool and the freeze stays frozen for more than 8 hours.
The Hawk
I've never seen an RV in flames on the side of the road in all my travels.
Previous RV's: '03 MobileScout Titan 29DBS; '01 Sunnybrook Lite 2708 SLE; '99 Coleman Utah
Previous TV's: '02 Chevy Suburban 2500 8.1 4.10; '99 Chevy Express 1500 5.7
drfife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 11:28 AM   #24

The flame to run the fridge is quite small, and if it goes out, the thermacouple shuts of the gas supply. Like anything else, the propane system needs maintenance. If you tow your trailer a couple thousand miles each year, you should have the propane system leak tested every 2 or 3 years. System leaks are a far more dangerous thing, whether you use it on the road or not. Leaks can still be there after reaching your destination.

Sorry for getting off the original topic of fridge performance.
Old 04-07-2012, 07:48 PM   #25

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hawk View Post
The Hawk