Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-22-2020, 07:26 PM   #1

"TV Only Plug" for DC/AC adapter?

Warning, I'm new to the Jayco world. We have an SLX-145 Baja. We have two 6v Golf Cart batteries hooked up in series for when we're not on shore power.

What we just figured out is that when not plugged into shore power, we can't use any of the AC plugs to power the Weboost, charge laptops and phones, etc. Apparently everyone else knew this ahead of time except for us.

We are leaving on a cross country trip in one week. I'd like to avoid hardwiring a bunch of stuff and things like that due to technical (lack of) know-how and time.

There is a Plug behind where the TV was supposed to be that says "For TV Only" that looks like a DC plug or cigar lighter. Could an easy solution be simply buying a DC/AC adapter from Walmart or Amazon and plug into that? Then power the Weboost Cell booster, occasional laptop of phone charge from that thing? I've attached a picture of one we found. Is there an adapter that lots of Jayco owners use? Wattage or Amps?

For the record, I have not seen another DC outlet anywhere on the trailer so that is the only one I can find.

Thanks for any guidance!

Beagle
Attached Thumbnails
inverter.jpg  
Beagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 08:53 PM   #2

This should work fine but make sure that you find out what that 12V accessory outlet is rated for so that you don't overload it. I almost went with a WeBoost for our camper but ended up with a SureCall Fusion2Go 3.0 RV partly because they provide both a AC and 12V Accessory plug to power the booster so no wiring needed to use it on the 12V system alone.
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition, Andersen No-Sway (Traded in)
ttavasc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 08:57 PM   #3