Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-05-2019, 07:57 AM   #1

Warranty issues fix them or take it to the dealer

I have had some issues with my RV since I got it in October last year. Nothing that was major to me but I am an electronics engineer by trade. A few of the issues (all months apart) like a bad circuit board in the both the furnace and the water heater and a small leak in the line to the refrigerator likely would send people back to the dealer for repairs. When I called the dealer a couple of times I quickly found out the lead time for getting it in for repairs was weeks out. The phone support was a joke and the options for taking it in for repairs were not reasonable for me. I really did not want to be without my RV and in my case the dealer is 150 miles away. The cost to replace the two circuit boards was about $120 each for repairs for the better Dinosaur electronics boards and $10 to fix the leak. Total labor time was less than one round trip to take it to the dealer to fix them. The cost in fuel to just haul the RV to the dealer and back each time would have been a lot more. Brings a lot of questions to my mind:

From reading apparently Atwood/Dometic has some significant circuit board issues. I have seen a lot of posts on this for a lot of RVs from multiple manufacturers.

How in the world do people that can’t fix these things easily get a chance to enjoy their RVs?

I am sure I could get some push back for doing all my repairs from the manufacture or the dealer, but they put me in a position to make the decisions very quickly. I don’t really have the patience to resolve something like this on the phone with them either.

If the factory did more quality control and took more care in building the new units the dealers would not be in this situation.