Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-05-2017, 10:39 PM   #21

I have been using my Jeep built in GPS but no update since built in 2014. Now it is making more and more mistakes, does not know new roads, business, etc.

Wanted to update but Fiat/Jeep charges $149 to update once. I find that a ridiculous amount and am thinking of going back to my Garmin with lifetime free map updates.

Anybody found the Jeep update cheaper?
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 11:45 PM   #22

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerR View Post
I have been using my Jeep built in GPS but no update since built in 2014. Now it is making more and more mistakes, does not know new roads, business, etc.

Wanted to update but Fiat/Jeep charges $149 to update once. I find that a ridiculous amount and am thinking of going back to my Garmin with lifetime free map updates.

Anybody found the Jeep update cheaper?
I would be surprised to find it cheaper as you can only get the updates for FCA products through FCA (Uconnect). Not sure if they ever have a sale or special on that as my RAM didn't come with the factory nav activated. About the only time the truck goes any distance is pulling the camper so I wanted an RV-specific GPS anyway. My Garmin RV 660LMT w/LifeTime map updates was only about $300 on sale. FCA charges $595 to activate the nav later so I'm already well ahead with the Garmin.

The DW's CR-V is $99 for map updates. It's a 2014 also and we just did the first update earlier this year. I'll probably suck it up and do the CR-V every couple of years because she does use it for some longer trips several times a year.