Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-10-2018, 04:42 PM   #1

What type of Anti-Freeze -50F or -100F

Hi,

I'm new to RV-ing and I'm looking at winterizing my FW with the recommended method air blower + AntiFreeze in the lines.

Looking to buy AF, I found out that there are multiple types. The commonly recommended is propylene glycol to avoid taste and smell in the lines (in opposition to ethanol based).

The next question is about the temperature capability: -50F or -100F.
To be noted that -50F AF notice indicates that it solidifies at ~12F.
Some users report expansion of the AF still damaging their lines or faucets.

What is this forum recommendation?
Edena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 04:46 PM   #2

I have not seen -100° F antifreeze solution for sale where I live in SW Michigan. I'll be curious where that's located short of purchasing it online. I'm going to follow the answers you are seeking here.

Jerry B.
"Stateboy" (Formerly "36fire412")
SW Lower Michigan
2016 X254
2012 Toyota Tundra Crewmax TRD 4x4
stateboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 05:25 PM   #3

I’ve never seen -100* RV AF before here in Wisconsin. I just buy the stuff at Walmart and only use it in the traps. I blow all the water out of the lines and have never had a problem with broken lines when spring comes.
Old 10-10-2018, 05:47 PM   #4

Air only?