Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2016, 08:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 99
Why no amp load meter?

It would be nice to know what the load is on the 110 volt 30 amp system at any given time. My boat has a volts and amps load gauge built into the breaker panel so you know how much power is being used.

Anyone install something like this? I would like to know what the trailer is pulling when various appliances are running.
__________________

ScarabChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 08:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Robbbyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Akron
Posts: 1,339
You can accomplish your goal with a Progressive Industries Electrical Management System (EMS). They offer units that are hardwired and have a remote display that shows volts, amps, frequency, and any errors if there are any. But more importantly they protect your rig from those problems before something like low voltage burns up your AC compressor's motor. Compared to the cost of replacing fried components, cheap insurance IMHO.

I have their 50-amp version so I see the load and voltage on both legs.
__________________

__________________
Rob R.
Akron, OH
2014 Seneca 37TS
Toads: 2014 Ford Explorer Sport or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 12:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Aero_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbbyr View Post
You can accomplish your goal with a Progressive Industries Electrical Management System (EMS). They offer units that are hardwired and have a remote display that shows volts, amps, frequency, and any errors if there are any. But more importantly they protect your rig from those problems before something like low voltage burns up your AC compressor's motor. Compared to the cost of replacing fried components, cheap insurance IMHO.

I have their 50-amp version so I see the load and voltage on both legs.
+2 I have the 30A hard-wired system with remote display. It showed me this last weekend, that when the hot water tank is cold, it draws a lot of amps when 1st turned-on. Took my reading from 5A up to 28A, then dropped to 26A for another 30 seconds. Then over the next 5 minutes it dropped down to 17A. This is why my 30A breaker outside on the pole tripped, right after I turned on my water heater, then the AC.
So I used LP setting for the HW tank until the water got hot, so I could use the AC. Once the water was hot, I went back to electric setting. When both HW & AC were running, I would hit 30A, but the breaker didn't trip again.

Dave...
__________________
2013 Ram 2500, 6.7 CTD, CCLB 4x4 in True Blue.
B&W Turnover Ball, Andersen Ultimate Hitch (v2)

2016 Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS Picked-up 4/1/16
2007 Rockwood ROO 21SS - SOLD
Aero_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.