Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2016, 06:01 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Millbury
Posts: 13
377 rlbh surge surppressor

We bought a new 377 rlbh at the end of last season. I am working to get it ready to start camping this season. I had a surge surppressor in our old rv that I removed to add to this one but I can not find a location that I can access the wires before they enter the fuse box. Has anyone done this already and would you be willing to share where you installed the surppressor? Any help in locating a good spot would be appreciated.
__________________

eklav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2016, 06:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Magnolia Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Magnolia
Posts: 2,034
I installed my ems behind the fuse box on mine.
__________________

__________________
2016 North Point 377 RLBH, with a few mods
2014 Ford F350 Platinum, CC, 6.7PSD, DRW, air bags, Curt Q25 hitch

Magnolia Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 09:03 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Millbury
Posts: 13
Thanks Magnolia Tom, I assumed you then just pulled the fuse box out since I did not see a way to access that area from the bunk room?
eklav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 09:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
CONGRATULATIONS on the JAYCO!!!

...and WELCOME TO JOF!!! The members here are GREAT!!! There is a lot of GREAT information to be found here. I am sure that you will have information and pictures to share with us... so please do!!

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 10:18 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bookemdanno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Frisco
Posts: 1,555
Welcome Eklav! Tom's mod was on my list of things to do, but my mother got me a pedestal EMS...so that takes care of this mod for me...at least until, I get a hair up my butt and decide to do it anyways.
__________________
Dan
'16 Ram 3500 MC CTD Dually, 4:10 rear
'14 Ram 2500 MC CTD (gone)
'14 287BHBE (gone)
'16 North Point 377RLBH (current and hopefully last)
Bookemdanno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 10:44 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Millbury
Posts: 13
Thanks Don! I have made a few changes so far, then it turned cold so I have put others on hold for now.
eklav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 10:48 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Millbury
Posts: 13
We looked at a pedestal one but then my wife was afraid that someone could just walk away with it, so we went to the mounted version. Was easy to install on our old RV, panel behind the fuse box was able to be removed.
eklav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 12:23 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,004
We have a different 5er but I was able to access my electrical panel from the basement. Removing the rear basement wall gave me pretty good access to the area behind the panel. I then removed the screws from the panel and was able to pull it out enough to access the terminals on the back side. I mounted my EMS under the steps, disconnected the A/C from the panel and connected it to the EMS. I then bought an 8' section of cable to connect the EMS to the panel. I positioned my remote display similar to "Magnoia's".

This is the view from the basement looking aft at the area under the steps. The panel is just to the right in my pic but we can't see it in the picture.
Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-05-03_194011886_D0B0C_iOS.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	110.8 KB
ID:	22449
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 02:01 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Millbury
Posts: 13
Thanks Redhorse1, that was the first spot I looked at but could not see the electrical cable at all. Yours looks great and looks like you had a lot of space to work with.
eklav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 06:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
I put mine in the basement as well. I had to take a wall down to gain access to the back of my converter panel. Then I snaked the remote control/display wire for the panel up a wall and into a cabinet for monitoring.

With your unit unplugged you can take the 4 screws out of the face trim around the converter and access your power cord that way. I have had the whole converter out in previous units to gain access.
__________________

__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.